wireless N LAN card (2504 Views)
Honor Student
RODGERLS
Message 1 of 4 (2,504 Views)

wireless N LAN card

I recently purchased an HPE-480t with a Premium Wireless-N LAN card and Bluetooth.

My HP Laptop in the same location receives a 3-4 bar signal from my Linksys WRT54G, but my desktop indicates the signal is too weak to connect.

Is it necessary to connect an antenna to the desktop to receive a better signal, upgrade to an "N" router, or both?

If either or both options are necessary, can anyone suggest a compatable antenna and/or router?

Dean
old_geekster
Message 2 of 4 (2,478 Views)

Re: wireless N LAN card

[ Edited ]

Roger, here is the 'Solve a problem' section for 'Wireless/Networking/Internet for the computer.  I am very new to wireless networks.  In fact, I have only been using one for a couple of weeks.  In that time, however, I have had enough problems to add to my expertise.  The biggest problem is normally caused by the location of the wireless hot-spot.  If it is too far from the computer that can cause a problem.  Also, you may be getting interference from your laptop or other device, such as, a wireless phone.

I am using a Cisco Valet Plus (AM20) router, with a USB Cisco Valet Connector (AM10) with Qwest DSL.  The wireless connection is a bit slower than my previous wired connection.  I also use the LAN to stream movies and other media to my Sony 52" 3D Bravia and Blu-ray disc player with built-in WiFi.  The router is located on the second floor and the TV is located on the first floor.  I have a great connection.  It is at 100% most of the time.

HP Split 13 x2
- 1.6 Ghz; 4 GB memory; SSD 128 GB; Win 8.0

HP Phoenix ENVY 810-135qe
- i7-4770K (liquid cooled); 8 GB memory; GT 640 (4 GB), SSD (Samsung EVO 840-500 GB); 600W PSU; Win 7

HP Photosmart 7520 AIO

++++++++++++++++++
**Click the Thumbs Up on the left to say 'Thanks'**

Intelligence is God given; Wisdom is the sum of our mistakes!

Message 3 of 4 (2,469 Views)