Question
Reply
 
Top Student
bagriff
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-18-2013
Message 1 of 12 (1,011 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP Prime Sto

I can't seem to do a simple task with the HP Prime. I just want to store a number in a variable while in RPN mode. How do I do it?

Master's Graduate
BartdB
Posts: 463
Member Since: ‎08-10-2010
Message 2 of 12 (996 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

Hi,

 

Enter the number onto the stack. Type 'A', remember to use the ' ' (SHIFT on the ( ) button) then SHIFT STO (on the EEX button).

 

HTH

_________________________________________________________
Note, I do not work for HP, I just like playing with calculators :-)
Top Student
bagriff
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-18-2013
Message 3 of 12 (984 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

Thanks. I knew it was simple, but couldn't find where it said to use the ' '.
Master's Graduate
BartdB
Posts: 463
Member Since: ‎08-10-2010
Message 4 of 12 (978 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

I'm not sure it's made clear in the manual. Also on the Prime in RPN mode, any algebraic expression (e.g. a function in an app) needs to be entered with the ' ' .

 

By the way, there is a manual available that may be newer than that shipped with the Prime:

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/hpeb/attachments/hpeb/bsc-408/13750/1/HP_Prime_User_Guide_EN.pdf

(all are edition 1, but the date on p3 is different)

 

The 50g often automatically puts the ' ' in. The Prime needs it explicitly put in when using RPN.

 

From this we can see that the 50G is an RPN calculator with Algebraic Mode added on. The Prime is an algebraic calculator with RPN added on.

 

By the way, a caution, the Spreadsheet App is not stable when using RPN mode.

 

Happy calculating.

 

 

_________________________________________________________
Note, I do not work for HP, I just like playing with calculators :-)
Honor Student
DaveBen
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-06-2013
Message 5 of 12 (881 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

I am in RPN mode:

 

why can i not store 25 gal/min into a variable?????

 

why can i not create the following formula in the solve app?

 

PRESSURE * FLOW = POWER

 

and enter units for each of the above variables to have the calculator solve for power and show the result in horsepower?

Honor Student
DaveBen
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-06-2013
Message 6 of 12 (879 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

I am in RPN mode:

 

why can I not store 25 gal/min into a variable named FLOW???

 

why can I not create the following formula in the solve app?

 

PRESSURE * FLOW = POWER

 

and enter units for each of the above variables to have the calculator solve for power and show the result in horsepower?

 

i am totally fustrated!!! this should be basic stuff for the HP Prime Calculator

Master's Graduate
BartdB
Posts: 463
Member Since: ‎08-10-2010
Message 7 of 12 (868 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

[ Edited ]

Hi

Please see the following thread:
http://www.hpmuseum.org/cgi-sys/cgiwrap/hpmuseum/archv021.cgi?read=252806#252806

 

_________________________________________________________
Note, I do not work for HP, I just like playing with calculators :-)
Honor Student
joe1979
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-15-2014
Message 8 of 12 (657 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

Does anyone know how to change the base number when using logarithms
Honor Student
joe1979
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎03-15-2014
Message 9 of 12 (649 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

I can do log 10, but how do you change the base unit to say somthing like log3
Teacher
Joe_Horn
Posts: 84
Member Since: ‎02-04-2014
Message 10 of 12 (620 Views)

Re: HP Prime Sto

[ Edited ]

The easiest way to find the log of X base Y is LOG(X,Y).  Example: LOG(81,3) returns 4, because the log of 81 (base 3) is 4.  In Home, this is the easiest way because LOG and comma are primary keys.

 

Hint: in Home, press the Help key, then tap the Keys button, then press the LOG key.  Cool, huh?

 

You can also use the logb command, which looks nicer in Textbook Display mode.  It's the second-to-last item on the template key (next to the Toolbox key).

 

Caution: In CAS, LOG(x,y) must be spelled in uppercase, and logb(x,y) must be spelled in lowercase.  In Home, it doesn't matter.

 

Hope that helps!

-Joe-
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation