Question
Reply
 
Student
mikee9
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-14-2010
Message 1 of 28 (25,519 Views)
Accepted Solution

Break Key

Have G72T.   Keyboard has no BREAK key.

 

An application requires me to press:   CTRL+ALT+BREAK 

 

Is there a key combination that executes a BREAK key?

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 2 of 28 (25,510 Views)

Re: Break Key

Try the 'Pause' key...

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Honor Student
BigBadBoris
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 3 of 28 (25,497 Views)

Re: Break Key

I have a DV7, and the 'Pause' is written in faint on the right hand SHIFT key..ie 'Pause' and 'SHIFT' are the same button... How do I activate the PAUSE (BREAK ?) ???

Top Student
cgy11
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 4 of 28 (25,493 Views)

Re: Break Key

probably function buttin usually marked by FN in a square in the same colour writing, lower left corner of keyboard, however, i've never been able to use a multi key command with the FN key required (as in your case it would be ctrl+alt+FN+shift) as the depressing of the FN key seems to boot me out of they key sequence required, alternativly, you could try to use a USB external keyboard with a pause/break key

Distinguished Professor
Cyclops
Posts: 2,317
Member Since: ‎11-18-2008
Message 5 of 28 (25,486 Views)

Re: Break Key

@ BigBadBoris - Can you post the exact model number of your notebook?

_________________________________________________________
Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with 'Accept as Solution', if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
Honor Student
BigBadBoris
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 6 of 28 (25,395 Views)

Re: Break Key

HI there, yes the laptop is a  DV7 4010.

Thx

 

Honor Student
BigBadBoris
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎12-15-2010
Message 7 of 28 (25,386 Views)

Re: Break Key

ESC button seems to cause a break, and gets me into Debug mode for Excel VBA, and other developement languages.

Honor Student
debwalke
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎09-21-2011
Message 8 of 28 (24,216 Views)

Re: Break Key

Thank you.  This worked like a charm on my new HP Pavilion g series laptop.  I had searched all over the place for this information with no luck before coming here.  :smileyhappy:

Honor Student
Llad
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎01-20-2012
Message 9 of 28 (22,923 Views)

Re: Break Key

HEDV76199US Pavilion dv7-6199us 17.3" Notebook Computer (Steel Gray)

 

I just bought my Pavilion and I also cannot find the break key in order to get out of full screen mode of remote desk top.  I've tried

 

CTL + ALT + ESC

CTL + ALT + FN + ESC

CTL + ALT + PAUSE (pause is the shift function on the shift key.  Kind of wierd)

CTL + ALT + FN + PAUSE

CTL + ALT + FN + INS

 

I've also tried with just the right CTL and ALT keys.

 

Any other ideas?

 

Honor Student
casey15335
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎02-04-2012
Message 10 of 28 (22,591 Views)

Re: Break Key

I'm having the same problem with my dv7-6b63us

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation