Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎06-30-2011
Message 1 of 4 (13,634 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP G62 keyboard normal Function key use requires FN shift. Can that be changed?

My HP G62 Notebook keyboard function keys have media uses by default such as skip, stop, louder, quieter, wireless on/off. I rarely want that at all. But I do use them for terminal emulation function keys. To do that I have to hit FN all the time before using them. Can that be changed?

 

Thanks!

Reply
0
Accepted Solution

Re: HP G62 keyboard normal Function key use requires FN shift. Can that be changed?

Hi,

 

Shutdown the notebook.  Tap away at f10 as you start to enter the bios menu and see if you have the option described in the link below.

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02035108&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_US...

 

If you do, remember to press f10, select Yes and hit enter to save the change.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K



View solution in context
Provost
Posts: 36,939
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 2 of 4 (13,632 Views)

Re: HP G62 keyboard normal Function key use requires FN shift. Can that be changed?

Hi,

 

Shutdown the notebook.  Tap away at f10 as you start to enter the bios menu and see if you have the option described in the link below.

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02035108&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&jumpid=reg_R1002_US...

 

If you do, remember to press f10, select Yes and hit enter to save the change.

 

Regards,

 

DP-K



---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

Honor Student
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎06-30-2011
Message 3 of 4 (13,617 Views)

Re: HP G62 keyboard normal Function key use requires FN shift. Can that be changed?

For the G62, the BIOS Action Key need for FN should be manually DISABLED, as your link teaches how to do. 

 

This not only makes the F# keys do as expected without FN for us terminal emulator dinosaurs, it also makes those "Action keys" require the FN shift so it's impossible to turn off my wireless signal accidentally.

 

A win-win !

Thanks, David - and I did kudo you.

 

Provost
Posts: 36,939
Member Since: ‎09-24-2010
Message 4 of 4 (13,613 Views)

Re: HP G62 keyboard normal Function key use requires FN shift. Can that be changed?

Hi,

 

You're welcome and I'm glad it helped Smiley Happy

 

All the best,

 

DP-K

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

****Click the White thumb to say thanks****
****Please mark Accept As Solution if it solves your problem****
****I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Windows Experience

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation