HP Pavilion DV6 - 1216sa - heating and processor problems (713 Views)
Honor Student
MulberryMad
Message 1 of 6 (713 Views)

HP Pavilion DV6 - 1216sa - heating and processor problems

I wondered if someone could help me, ive had my DV61216sa for just over a year and it has always had problems with overheating - even when carrying out minor tasks but recently it has been behaving much worse.

The heat coming from it when even just sitting with no programs open is so bad that there must be something wrong. The task manager states it is running at 80-100% CPU usage when i am not even doing anything. I would say i am a novice with this sort of thing but i really require some help as i need this computer for work and study and its getting to the point where i cant type with it on my knee as its far too hot.

I have 3 year cover with staples so it actually covered but if theres anything i can check or try before that would be great.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks

Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Message 2 of 6 (697 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion DV6 - 1216sa - heating and processor problems

What process(s) are using the cpu cycles in task manager?

Honor Student
MulberryMad
Message 3 of 6 (694 Views)

How can i make some sort of copy of these to show on here please? (as you can tell i am a complete novice!)

Associate Dean
Mumbodog
Message 4 of 6 (692 Views)

You would have to make a screenshot, then upload it to an image hosting website, then post the link to the image here, kind of a pain for a novice.

Just look in the CPU column, and post the processes that are using the most cpu cycles.

Student
andyuk
Message 5 of 6 (230 Views)

[ Edited ]