Help! Cannot remove Windows password because of HP ProtectTools (4608 Views)
Honor Student
Duskmoon101
Message 1 of 15 (4,608 Views)

Help! Cannot remove Windows password because of HP ProtectTools

[ Edited ]

Hello there. I'm new to this so I have no idea where I should be posting this, but...

Anyhow. I am trying to remove my Windows password from the User Accounts setting in the control Panel (I use Windows 7) and it won't let me remove it. An error message pops up saying "Windows cannot remove the password. Password and/or account policies require the account to have a password." and I believe HP ProtectTools is causing this problem since I registered my password using that program.

I have also tried removing credentials in HP ProtectTools, but it forces me to have at least one active. I also tried removing the program completely, but other programs depend on it (A lot of them actually) so removing it is out of the question. 

My account is the only account on my computer and obviously is an administrator. Can anyone help me remove the password from HP ProtectTools so that I can remove it from Windows completely and therefore, don't have to type in a password when Windows starts up?

Thank you in advance. 

Honor Student
Kasivly
Message 2 of 15 (4,577 Views)

Re: Help! Cannot remove Windows password because of HP ProtectTools

You can  use windows password reset disk to remove windows password, if you don't have it, you can create it with some windows password password recovery softwares, such as Smartkey Windows Password Recovery.

Hope it helps you.

Honor Student
techjunkie88
Message 3 of 15 (4,202 Views)

Create another account with administrator priviledge and that should take care of it. After creating the other admin account, log into it and change the previous admin(with the password) to a standard account. The rest is up to you. Let me know if this helps

Top Student
drunkensailor
Message 4 of 15 (4,046 Views)