Question

Honor Student
Lib_B
Message 1 of 4 (372 Views)
Accepted Solution

mini dv to g series laptop - no firewire port or expansion slot - HELP!!!!

I have a Canon Vixia - which when we bought it, the SD cards that did have enough capacity were expensive, so we used mini dv.  now, 5 years later, i need to get this stuff edited and put on dvd before the tapes begin to degrade. 

i have an HP G42t-400 CTO Notebook PC.  My Canon requires a Firewire - my laptop has neither Firewire port or expansion slot.  i have done a lot of research into this topic and there are many conflicting opinions about what i need to do or even that i can't do it, period.  i don't want to invest in something that won't work.

here's what i gather that seems to make the most sense - i need the firewire to go from my canon to something - a port or hub of some sort - that will convert my video into something that is then passed thru the hub to my computer via USB.  i am not a techie.  i need a clear-cut, easy to understand, "buy this, buy that." sort of answer or a "it can't be done."  i prefer to do it myself as i have years of footage to manage.  i should have kept up with it over the years - which was my error.  at any rate, can this be done?  i've been told that a firewire to usb will work and then i've also been told by many people that it won't.  i'm at a loss - please help!

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Message 2 of 4 (353 Views)

Re: mini dv to g series laptop - no firewire port or expansion slot - HELP!!!!

Hello Lib_B.  I understand you need to get some data off of your camcorder but it requires a FireWire port which your notebook lacks.  Is this correct?

I am pretty sure USB and FireWire handle data a little differently.  So, I am not sure if it will be a 100% seemless process.  However, according to the discussion on this page it does seem to be possible.