Question

Student
ewocit
Message 1 of 15 (3,415 Views)

Deskjet D4160 goes "offline" when I try to print.

I'm using an HP deskjet D4160 on Windows XP and when I try to print the printer goes offline (according to Windows) and the power light and paper feed light blink back and forth. Everything is properly connected and both ink cartridges have been replaced since the problems started to occur. I've also tried reinstalling the driver. I've been trying to fix this problem for a while now, but to no avail. What could be a real fix for this issue?

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 15 (3,387 Views)

Re: Deskjet D4160 goes "offline" when I try to print.

Try the Print Diagnostic Utility at this location:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02114788&cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en&product=501857

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
Student
Palak
Message 3 of 15 (3,372 Views)

I am having HP deskjet F 380 printer. It goes offline

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 4 of 15 (3,329 Views)

Did you try the Print Diagnostic Utility?

007OHMSS

Top Student
longly6000
Message 5 of 15 (1,618 Views)

I have used that Print Diagonistic Utility and it said everything is find with the printer but the printer still goes offline at random times during the day

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 6 of 15 (1,610 Views)

Okay, so update me on your environment please. Deskjet D4160? Operating system XP? Wireless connection? Firewall/security/anti-virus software?

007OHMSS

Top Student
longly6000
Message 7 of 15 (1,587 Views)

The printer is connect via USB, it is in a Windows XP pro environment using Service Pack 3. 2Gb of memory DDR2. The user is in a Domain Server environment and the user does not have Admin rights. When the printer goes OFFline I ususally have to log in as an Admin and restart the printer spooler service for it to start printing the documents.