Question

Honor Student
donbear
Message 1 of 7 (4,319 Views)

HP Photosmart 8450 Inkjet Print Cartridge

What are the best cartridges for best quality photo printing?  My manual suggests different cartridges in a different order than the way my printer set up.  My printer has the following coloured tabs over the cartridge inserts left to right as follows: orange, green, black.  I'm getting lousy prints and it's likely old ink but before I invest in new cartridges, I want to know what I should be buying. 

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 7 (4,303 Views)

Re: HP Photosmart 8450 Inkjet Print Cartridge

One of the combinations that I have heard recommended for that printer is 97, 99 and 100 for photos.

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
Provost
Bob_Headrick
Message 3 of 7 (4,289 Views)

What country are you in?  At least the #97 cartridge is regionalized and will have a different number depending on the country the printer was purchased in.  As mentioned previously the best choice would be a Color (97), Photo (99), and Photo Gray (100).  

Page 18 of the manual here suggests:

584iA6739550B32A2E5D

Bob Headrick, Microsoft MVP Windows Expert - Consumer,  HP Expert

I am not an employee of Microsoft or HP, I am a volunteer posting here on my own time.

If your problem is solved please click the "Accept as Solution" button -------------------v

If my answer was helpful please click the "Thumbs Up" to say "Thank You"--V

Honor Student
busaied
Message 4 of 7 (4,178 Views)

Hello,

I have a photosmart 8453 which uses different numbering for the inks such as 130 for black. Can I use the inks mentioned above for my printer?

Provost
Bob_Headrick
Message 5 of 7 (4,161 Views)

busaied wrote:

I have a photosmart 8453 which uses different numbering for the inks such as 130 for black. Can I use the inks mentioned above for my printer?