Is Officejet 4500 Compatible With Photo Quality Vivera Inks? (2343 Views)
Honor Student
ssr555
Message 1 of 7 (2,343 Views)

Is Officejet 4500 Compatible With Photo Quality Vivera Inks?

[ Edited ]

The inks supplied with Officejet 4500 G 510 B (HP 901 Cartridges) are of too poor a quality for photo printing; particularly the black ink does not stick to photo paper & can be easily wiped out with a finger.

I would like to know whether this printer can use any photo quality HP Vivera ink cartridges - both Black & Tricolor. If so, kindly let me know the number of the cartridges.

or is this printer simply not meant for good quality photo printing?

Thank u.

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 7 (2,326 Views)

Re: Is Officejet 4500 Compatible With Photo Quality Vivera Inks?

This Officejet is aimed at office type work, whereas the Photosmart line is aimed more at photos. No photo cartridges are listed for the Officejet 4500 printer.

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
Provost
Bob_Headrick
Message 3 of 7 (2,319 Views)

[ Edited ]

ssr555 wrote:

The inks supplied with Officejet 4500 G 510 B (HP 901 Cartridges) are of too poor a quality for photo printing; particularly the black ink does not stick to photo paper & can be easily wiped out with a finger.

I would like to know whether this printer can use any photo quality HP Vivera ink cartridges - both Black & Tricolor. If so, kindly let me know the number of the cartridges.

Make sure you have selected the proper paper type.  The pigment black ink is not compatible with photo paper and when photo paper is selected only the color cartridge will be used.  Printing on photo paper with plain paper settings will result in poor quality results, the results will be much better with the proper settings.

Bob Headrick, Microsoft MVP Windows Expert - Consumer,  HP Expert