Question

Student
business_class
Message 1 of 8 (8,355 Views)

Made in China?

I've been buying business class printers from HP for the past 10 years. All have been made in the United States until recently when I purchased two LJ P4015 printers that are made in China. All the printers we've had in the past have been amazing workhorses and we always recommend and push HP printers because of it. Things have changed with the new printers made in china. One stopped working after a few days and the other seems to make a lot of strange noises as if its struggling??? After close inspection of the broken printer I noticed it was made in China. Now I don't have the same confidence in the Chinese printers as I have in the old ones made in the US.

I guess my question is, how can I find out which printers are made in the US ( or mabye Japan?) and which printers are made in China before I purchase new printers again? 

Regents Professor
DexterM
Message 2 of 8 (8,349 Views)

Re: Made in China?

I believe most printers, if not all, are manufactured in South-East Asia, primarily in China, Malaysia and Thailand. Not sure if any of them are being manufactured in the US anymore. Sorry.
----------------------------
Make it easier for other people to find solutions, by marking my answer with \'Accept as Solution\' if it solves your problem.
Click on the BLUE KUDOS button on the left to say "Thanks"
I am an ex-HP Employee.
Student
icfngh
Message 3 of 8 (7,785 Views)

My printers were made in China. They worked very well.

Honor Student
fedupwithchina
Message 4 of 8 (4,768 Views)

I always bought HP printers and would in fact not buy any others until the last two years when I purchased two, both crap. I paid over $200 each  for both and both are made in China and they really produce a piece of junk. The paper jams constantly when it does go through. The quality of the print is atrocious. Congratulations HP, you gave China your work and lost a customer.

Honor Student
rezolt