Question

Student
dueager2001
Message 1 of 20 (7,365 Views)

ink cartridge access door open

I purchased a photosmart plus B210e and get the message ink access door open during setup.  I finally figured out that the ink access door is the big printer lid but it is clearly shut.  None of the FAQ refer to this as a possible error.  I looking for any packing tape that could have been missed but can't figure out why printer message says the door is open.  Is this  a bad sensor and I need to return it to the store.  I purchased it on 9/27 and didn't open till a few days ago and haven't had the time to deal with this issue. 

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 20 (7,333 Views)

Re: ink cartridge access door open

The big lid has a cone shaped piece of plastic under the left side that goes into a hole in the base, which tells the printer that the lid is closed. If something is wrong with that or the switch in the hole, that will give that message.

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
Student
BunkerXCM
Message 3 of 20 (7,187 Views)

[ Edited ]

I'm having the same problem with my Grandma's B210e.

I found the cone and the button it depresses, but holding it down with a pencil or screwdriver does not fix the problem. Sounds like a hardware issue? Can Best Buy or someone local fix it or does it need to be sent in?

I've tried resetting the printer as well, no change.

Thanks

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 4 of 20 (7,170 Views)

You could try a power reset. While it is turned on, unplug the power from the back of the printer (not from the wall) and wait 30 seconds. Then connect it back to the printer and turn it on. If that does not help, then I would contact tech support at 800-474-6836. They can give you repair/replacement options.

007OHMSS

Student
jcroix
Message 5 of 20 (7,116 Views)