Question

Honor Student
jhallmedia
Message 1 of 39 (1,216 Views)

Will Palm Desktop 4.1.4 work with Windows 7?

Hi all. Newbie here. I am a long-time Palm OS user and fan, graduating over the years from the old PALM PDAs to a Treo 650 a few years ago. The latest version I have on my old Windows XP PC is Palm Desktop 4.1.4. Since I had to change cell providers and didn't like the PALM smartphones they had, I had to give up my Treo and no longer use OR need Hotsync. BUT - and this is important - I live and die by the PALM desktop. I would be lost without the Calendar, Address Book, Tasks, etc. I absolutely HATE Outlook calendar.

I just purchased a Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit PC and haven't hooked it up yet while checking program compatibility.

My questions are:

1. Will Palm Desktop 4.1.4 (the install CD I have from the Treo) install OK and work on WIndows 7? If not, is there a place I can download the Palm OS software that WILL work OK?

Thanks very much for helping me (if you can). :smileyhappy:

Post relates to: None

Tutor
ditech
Message 2 of 39 (1,217 Views)

Re: Will Palm Desktop 4.1.4 work with Windows 7?

Welcome to palm forum.

We haven’t test the compatibility Windows 7 and PD. You can try to install 4.1.4 from the CD if not you can go to www.palm.com   and download the PD 6.2 here is the link http://kb.palm.com/wps/portal/kb/common/article/32859_en.html .

Honor Student
jhallmedia
Message 3 of 39 (1,216 Views)

Thanks very much, ditech!
Top Student
paulbear
Message 4 of 39 (1,216 Views)

Hi Ditech -

But will Palm 6.2 on my desktop with Windows 7 allow me to communicate and/hotsync with my Z-22? I don't expect my new HP to have an IR, only Wi-Fi and Bluetooth.

If not, what do you suggest to replace the Z-22? I'm a Verizon customer.

Tutor
ditech
Message 5 of 39 (1,216 Views)

Hi paulbear,

Which version Windows 7 you have 64bits or 32bits.

Top Student
paulbear
Message 6 of 39 (1,216 Views)

I have the 64-bit version.

Paulbear

Student
laurentiu_1