Question

Student
Budgie
Message 1 of 3 (3,527 Views)

HP Director cannot access 2840

2840 is hardwired to lan.  I can print fine but when I try and use the HP Director Utilities I get an error message that the browser Failed to Connect.

I am trying to set up the scanner and getting nowhere fast either with Twain software or the control panel button on the machine.

I thought I would be able to set things up using HP Director but no luck.

The browser is showing it is trying to access the following address:-

http://127.0.0.1:5225/Toolbox4.0/controller/deviceMultiLineStatusDevice/192.168.169.176/DeviceContent.jsp?device=192.168.169.176&cat=0&pos=0&menu=0.

I read this as trying to access an address on the machine I am using since 127.0.0.1 is the loopback address however I am not a network expert.  I have opened up the port 5225 in the firewall for udp traffic on the relevant subnet but no luck.

I get the same message when trying to use the "how do I?" and access the network settings page in the Director.  

So no multifunction here.  Please could somebody help.

Student
EERY
Message 2 of 3 (3,483 Views)

Re: HP Director cannot access 2840

Hi,

Assuming that your computer is running on windows XP, download the update from the link below:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=oj-46104-1&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&os=228&product=90764

Note: Make sure the complete software is installed by which I mean, during the installation you haven't encountered any error msg.

Top Student
woo98
Message 3 of 3 (3,348 Views)

Re: HP Director cannot access 2840

This might help. Check the hosts file in C/windows/system32/drivers/etc......there you will locate the hosts file; open the hosts file with notepad and check for the 2840 ( you can tell what it is by the name NPsomething) you can get this off the printer by printing a configuration report...menu/reports/config report