Question
Reply
 
Student
fulhamexc
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-25-2010
Message 1 of 11 (30,351 Views)

hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

 

 

I couldn't set up the wireless connection for my printer HP3050 , I m using windows XP with BT home hub v1.5

 

I've printed out the wireless network test report

 

it says all the tests: PASS 

signal quality: excellent

 

 

in the 2nd part it gives the IP address as well.

conf source: dhcp

comm mode infrastructure

authentication type: open system

encryption:64bit wep

 

In the windows firewall settings,just in case I included printer sharing as an exception as well.

whether blue light's on or flashing didn't change the result,  I still can't see my printer on the network, when i try to connect it, keeps saying "unable to find the printer".

 

Could you please help us on this issue?

 

Thanks in advance.

Teacher
kevin_techno
Posts: 112
Member Since: ‎08-09-2010
Message 2 of 11 (30,330 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

To be able to set up wireless printer configuration, there are three basic items that you need to have. They are a high-speed broadband Internet connection (with modem), a high speed wireless router and wireless network adaptors. These three items will be used in setting up the wireless printer. Assuming that there is already an existing network in the home or office space, then all that is needed to do to make the printer available in the network through the operating system’s networking wizard. If not, then the network must first be established, only then the printer will be made available through that network.

Honor Student
Ascottgent
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-30-2010
Message 3 of 11 (30,163 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

I had the same problem connecting my 3050 to XP SP3. The printer sees the router and I can access the printer through a browser using the IP address listed by the printer. The only way I could connect was to create an IP port for that IP address. The only problem was that on restarting the system the printer had been allocated a different IP address and I had to create another IP port. Not ideal, I don't want to have to create a new IP port every time the router issues a new IP address to the printer

 

Thanks in  advance

Top Student
akaoperator
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎12-09-2010
Message 4 of 11 (29,981 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

Using the web browser page to access the printer settings, you can manually assign a static IP address, along with your subnet mask, default gateway, and DNS server address. I had to do that with both XP and Win7 using Zone Alarm Security Suite in order to connect consistently.

 

Honor Student
joey16g
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Message 5 of 11 (29,247 Views)
Student
RPALLEN
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎12-16-2010
Message 6 of 11 (20,515 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

My Lap top HP G72 says I hav configured my printer successfully but when I click on print to print a document  displayed on the lap top screen.I get the message that it cannot recognise my IP address. Ihave dlink router  configured to my HP 760 Desk top  What I am doing wrong or not doing. If I connect laptop to Printer by usb cable it prints of ok.

 

PLEASE HELP ME

Honor Student
mickeyc
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-29-2011
Message 7 of 11 (13,168 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

unable to set up my hp 3050a wireless printer?

Honor Student
mickeyc
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-29-2011
Message 8 of 11 (13,167 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

need to set up my wireless printer?
Honor Student
KAYTEEGURLL
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎12-09-2012
Message 9 of 11 (3,566 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

[ Edited ]

HEY IM JUST ANOTHER USER BUT WHAT IM NOTICING  IS THAT  WE HAVE TO DO TO SOMETHING SPECIAL AND GET IP ADDRESS WE CANTJUST USE OUR WIRELESS LAPTOPS TO PRINT  WITH  WHICH REALLY SUCKS

 

Student
erabuddy
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-14-2013
Message 10 of 11 (3,051 Views)

Re: hp 3050 J610 wireless setup

ok, i have a 3050 j610 printer, a linksys e900 router and an hp pavilion running vista. everything i do doesnt work. It will connect with a usb cable but not wireless. Ive spent over 12hrs on  this setup, what am i doing wrong?

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation