Re: hp/ (external ) dvd 1040 writer (304 Views)
Student
hutch5121
Message 1 of 5 (7,952 Views)

hp/ (external ) dvd 1040 writer

This is my first time for this, can someone help me find the install software for the  hp1040 writer, my hard drive crashed and I can't find my CD and need to reinstall software to get my writer up and running, I've searched HP's web site with no luck.

Student
sideshowtodd
Message 2 of 5 (3,771 Views)

Re: hp/ (external ) dvd 1040 writer

it's really sad that two years have gone by and not a single HP employee or anyone from the community has helped with this issue. I expected better from the official HP Support Forum, at the very least a comment from a moderator saying "we're sorry, there are no employees here able to find drivers to support our own products."

This thread has had 4181 views as of my posting. That should be a clue, there are thousands of people who are having the same troubles and, judging by this thread, HP has done nothing for customer support. Considereing this thread was Hutch5121's first, only, and last post, I'm guessing he was soured by the experience as well.

Student
FXSage
Message 3 of 5 (3,687 Views)

I am roughly in the same boat.  If I find my original CD or find another source, I will post it here.

Student
sensei41
Message 4 of 5 (615 Views)

This 2012 and I have the same problem. I have searched not only hp but all of yahoo without luck. gues i will have to toss it. this is not the only hp product i have trouble with. HP used to be a good company and cared about its customers but no longer.
Student
DownWithHP
Message 5 of 5 (304 Views)