Question

Honor Student
simon_may
Message 1 of 20 (11,308 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cant find printer on network

I have a All in one 7780 and set it up on first on a Vista machine. Wireless connection. works well. Now trying to install drivers on an XP machine. Setup program cannot find the printer on the network (workgroup), even using the device name. I can successfully ping the IP address. Any ideas?
Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Message 2 of 20 (11,300 Views)

Re: Cant find printer on network

What type of SW firewall and antivirus program are you running?  I'm speculating that your SW firewall is interfering with the HP SW discovering the printer.

Regards / Jim B / Wireless Enthusiasts
( While I'm an embedded wireless systems engineer at work, on this forum I do not represent my former employer, Hewlett-Packard, or my current employer, Microsoft )
+ Click the White Kudos star on the left as a way to say "thank you" for helpful posts.
Honor Student
simon_may
Message 3 of 20 (11,288 Views)

No virus protection - Windows firewall - Ill try with it off
Honor Student
Hallen
Message 4 of 20 (10,785 Views)

I am having this same problem with XP.  I have tried USB connection, wired, connection, and wireless but no success.  The install software con not find the printer under any circumstance.  I have tried diabling the firewall both in the router and SW as well as direct cable connection.  It's strange that the HP network diag finds the printer but the install software does not.  The printer was working fine about a year ago then I tried to install an HP driver update and nothing worked after that.  This is very frustrating.  Doe anyone have any suggestions?   
Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Message 5 of 20 (10,768 Views)

Did you say you're having trouble even with a USB install? What type of pirnter is this?

Try doing a full uninstall:

• Open the CD that has the printer software files
  • Open the util/ccc folder
  • Select the Uninstall_L3.bat filel