Question
Reply
 
Top Student
ayee
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎03-03-2012
Message 1 of 10 (17,807 Views)

Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

I recently renamed my wireless network (no change of password or anything). How do I find and reconnect my printer to this network?  I have a Macbook Pro.  When I print it says it's offline.  It seems all I need to do is find the network and reenter my password.  But how?  Do I need to reinstall my printer?

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 2 of 10 (17,801 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

Yup, you need to reinstall your printer.

 

Go to Applications > HP > C4700 > Add a Device and choose a Wireless connection type when it asks.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
ayee
Posts: 8
Member Since: ‎03-03-2012
Message 3 of 10 (17,796 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

Thanks, so just making sure I need to uninstall the software and reinstall by putting the CD again and go through that process again before seeing that "add a device" setting? Or can I add the device from the HP Utility, since I already have that software on my computer...
Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 10 (17,791 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

You should be able to do it with the software that is on your Mac already.

 

One warning, however, it is easy to have the wrong HP software on your Mac.  Check what is written on your CD (if that is where you installed from).  If it says 10.5+ and you have 10.6 or 10.7, it is NOT the right software.

 

If you think you need to get updated software, get the latest software for your printer from the "Support & Drivers" link at the top of this page.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Student
TrickyD
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-28-2012
Message 5 of 10 (17,660 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

when I click on "add a device" the program starts, a progress bar is shown, but eventually just dies.

 

Any ideas why this is happening?

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 10 (17,658 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

It sounds like the HP software is corrupted or is the wrong version for your version of OS X.

 

Get the latest software for your printer from the "Support & Drivers" link at the top of this page.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Student
mudflapiam
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-12-2014
Message 7 of 10 (8,141 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

I am an HP stockholder and this info does not work on my computer.

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,354
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 10 (8,073 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

Its great you are a stockholder, but no one can help you unless you describe your problem, your printer, your computer operating system and how the printer is connected.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Student
deepseanut
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎05-14-2014
Message 9 of 10 (5,366 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

brighthouse changed to arris know printer will not work on wireless but works with cable in it

Honor Student
berkeleylibrary
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎05-28-2012
Message 10 of 10 (5,037 Views)

Re: Reconnect my HP Photosmart C4700

Tried everything mentioned to connect my Photosmart c4780 to the network---except buying a PC and using it to connect one time to the printer to configure it.

 

I'v tried pushing the WPS button on my router, after setting up the printer to recognize a WPS device.

 

Doesn't work.

 

I've tried the PIN method..the C4780 generates a PIN;  I log into my router, make sure WPS is enabled, enter the PIN from the HP Photosmart C4780.......and it doesn't work.

 

Try 5 or six times, just to be sure that HP is really failing....and HP fails.

 

Sad....HP could learn about wireless from someone, you'd think.

 

I'll go back to using the USB connection.  That works.  No more HP wireless devices.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation