Question

Top Student
DejjB
Message 1 of 32 (13,767 Views)

Unable to Communicate with Printer - Photosmart 6520

[ Edited ]

A few days ago this issue popped up out of no where. I've been using the printer for a few months now with out an issue, but all of a sudden all of our computers can no longer print. When ever I try an error pops up that the computer cannot communicate with the printer, and to try to update the IP address with the IP address tool.

So far what I've tried without any success:

- Restarting the printer.

- Restarting the router.

- Restarting the computers.

- Reconnecting the printer to the network (Rerunning the network setup.).

- Changing the IP address manually.

- Disabled the router firewall and computer firewall.

- Changed the wireless security on my router to WPA2 from WEP (Needed to do this anyway.).

- Uninstalling, then reinstalling drivers and software.

- HP Print and Scan Doctor (Sorry, left this one off. Doesn't detect any devices.)

The Photosmart 6520 says it is connected to the network and the printed wireless test page says the same thing, but none of the computer can print to it, or detect it.

So far I'm stuck there, as I can't locate the printer to finish reinstalling the drivers.

Having this issue on multiple devices.

- Desktop running Windows 7 Ultimate x64

- Acer laptop running Windows 7 Home

- Two different HP laptops running Windows Vista

Since it is affecting so many devices on different platforms I'm inclined to believe the fault lies with the router or the printer itself. Though since there's no other network issues and the printer itself shows it connects successfully to the network (I can also see it listed on the router client list.), I'm leaning more towards an issue with the printer.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks for your time.

Grad Student
SammanthaR
Message 2 of 32 (13,761 Views)

Re: Unable to Communicate with Printer - Photosmart 6520