Using HP 6500 Wireless with Verizon MIFI 2200 (9225 Views)
Top Student
racin8
Message 1 of 15 (9,225 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using HP 6500 Wireless with Verizon MIFI 2200

[ Edited ]

Is it possibe to use my HP 6500 all in one with built in wireless with a Verizon MIFI 2200 at the same time...all on one wireless connection from my laptop?       Thank You

Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Message 2 of 15 (9,216 Views)

Re: Using HP 6500 Wireless with Verizon MIFI 2200

Unless the Verizon MiFi enforces wireless isolation amongst its clients, you should be able to wirelessly print to your Officejet 6500 from your laptop using the MiFi.

A quick test is to connect two wireless laptops to the MiFi and see if you can ping each others IP address.  If you can, the printer should work.

Regards / Jim B / Wireless Enthusiasts
( While I'm an embedded wireless systems engineer at work, on this forum I do not represent my former employer, Hewlett-Packard, or my current employer, Microsoft )
+ Click the White Kudos star on the left as a way to say "thank you" for helpful posts.
Top Student
racin8
Message 3 of 15 (9,195 Views)

Well i  took a chance that this might  work...what i did was set up MIFI then once wireless put printer software cd in laptop and went to network connections tab on main menu...after a few steps it allowed me to enter the wep key and magically it was printing wirelessly and on the internet at the same time. At least it is right now.

Student
JAPHY
Message 4 of 15 (9,069 Views)

I have the hp pro 8500 wireless printer and cannot figure how to get the mifi 2200 communicate with the printer.  Any suggestions.  Sorry, but will need details with no jargon.  Thank you so much.

Provost
PrintDoc
Message 5 of 15 (9,066 Views)

Have you tried running the Wireless Setup Wizard from the front panel of the printer?  It should see the mifi and connect.

I am employed by HP
Associate Professor
Wi-Fi-Guy
Message 6 of 15 (9,066 Views)