Question

Tutor
harthenry
Message 1 of 10 (3,061 Views)

Wireless Connection never wakes up HP Officejet Pro 8600 N911g

There seems to be quite a bit of chatter regarding the wireless connection on an HP 8600 going to sleep (ECON mode) and never waking up (at least with Windows XP SP3).  Mine does this too -- when hard wired, the HP Printer works fine.  I really do not believe this is a static IP problem.  FYI: Any cheaply made router has DHCP Static IP address assignment through MAC lookup - this is the way you should be setting up your system.  Anyway, I believe the problem has to do with the ARP Multicast broadcast that is issued by the print spooler in Windows XP that broadcasts "--where is the HP Printer--?".  Hopefully there is a picture attached to this document.  Since I develop drivers for a living, it was a simple "snif" of the packets through a protocol analyzer (I used a freebie one called wireshark for this exercise) that shows fairly clearly the HP printer is completely ignoring a standard ARP Multicast "wake up" message on "who has ....IP... address??".  In my case the "IP" address of the HP printer is xx.109 and my computer is xx.114.  Look at the trace.  ARP is asking who has the MAC address of xx.109.  (this is a standard ARP multicast call).  The HP printer even though it is sleeping and --should-- continue to monitor all multicast IP traffic, should see the simple ARP message, and say "we're here! we're here! we're here!".  Looking at the trace, it is fairly obvious the HP printer is completely ignoring the message. 

So, hey HP guys, what else do you need from me to help you fix your problem... Just give me a shout and I will be more than happy to help out any way I can, thanks HHARP multicast

Tutor
harthenry
Message 2 of 10 (3,036 Views)

Re: Wireless Connection never wakes up HP Officejet Pro 8600 N911g

I was hoping someone from HP would read this and respond
Top Student
wakanafo0
Message 3 of 10 (3,028 Views)