Question
Reply
 
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 1 of 8 (544 Views)

all-in-one printer is "offline"

my HP photosmart C3150 all-in-one is connected and works (copies, doesn't print) and when I try to print a document is says that I need to install a printer. But this all-in-one works and is connected, but it says that it is offline. I have tried to "check mark" it under the printer menu but it will not check. Thanks for any help!

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,336
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 2 of 8 (543 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What operating system?  How is the printer connected?

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 3 of 8 (539 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I have a HP desktop prod#: kq510aa#aba  &  s/n: mxu8240mt3. the all-in-one is connected with a USM cord connected to the back of the modem ( I think thats what it is called ) and back of the all-in-one printer.

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,336
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 8 (538 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What version of Windows (XP, Vista or Windows 7)?

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 5 of 8 (535 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

oh, sorry, it is a windows xp home edition

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,336
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 8 (531 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, in Control Panel > Printers, right click the printer and select "Use Printer Online".

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 8 (529 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I tried that, but it didn't work. In the control panel, it says that the printer is online and ready but when I try to print it says "no printer can be found. please add a printer, then try printing again."

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,336
Member Since: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 8 (514 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, delete the printer in Control Panel by clicking it once and then hitting the delete key on your keyboard.

 

Now, on the same screen, click Add a Printer > Add a Local USB printer and follow the prompts.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" "thumbs up" in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation