all-in-one printer is "offline" (500 Views)
Reply
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 1 of 8 (500 Views)

all-in-one printer is "offline"

my HP photosmart C3150 all-in-one is connected and works (copies, doesn't print) and when I try to print a document is says that I need to install a printer. But this all-in-one works and is connected, but it says that it is offline. I have tried to "check mark" it under the printer menu but it will not check. Thanks for any help!

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,135
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 2 of 8 (499 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What operating system?  How is the printer connected?

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" on the left in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 3 of 8 (495 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I have a HP desktop prod#: kq510aa#aba  &  s/n: mxu8240mt3. the all-in-one is connected with a USM cord connected to the back of the modem ( I think thats what it is called ) and back of the all-in-one printer.

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,135
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 4 of 8 (494 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

What version of Windows (XP, Vista or Windows 7)?

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" on the left in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 5 of 8 (491 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

oh, sorry, it is a windows xp home edition

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,135
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 6 of 8 (487 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, in Control Panel > Printers, right click the printer and select "Use Printer Online".

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" on the left in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
Top Student
docjulie1599
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 7 of 8 (485 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

I tried that, but it didn't work. In the control panel, it says that the printer is online and ready but when I try to print it says "no printer can be found. please add a printer, then try printing again."

Provost
PrintDoc
Posts: 20,135
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 8 of 8 (470 Views)

Re: all-in-one printer is "offline"

OK, delete the printer in Control Panel by clicking it once and then hitting the delete key on your keyboard.

 

Now, on the same screen, click Add a Printer > Add a Local USB printer and follow the prompts.

________________________________________________________
Say thanks by clicking "Kudos" on the left in the post that helped you.

I am employed by HP
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation