Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus (18971 Views)
Reply
Teacher
AcaCandy
Posts: 57
Member Since: ‎11-05-2009
Message 21 of 165 (8,285 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

One more month and still no fix? :smileymad:

Student
tecnhum
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-23-2011
Message 22 of 165 (8,183 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

Hey HP - Come on, this is a legitimate problem. Scan-to-computer activation should be persistent after the printer and/or computers sleep or restart. Please acknowledge and fix the problem!

Student
SunSurf
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎08-25-2011
Message 23 of 165 (8,153 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

Activate Scan to Computer is NOT an option available under Scanner Actions on my 64bit Win7 system. In Program Files/.../Bin I find ScanToPCActivationApp but clicking it give same error as reported by others.

 

Any thoughts on why it does not show up in my Scanner Actions menu?

Top Student
rkpayto
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎09-02-2011
Message 24 of 165 (8,088 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

I have the 6500a plus. If you goto 'program files-hp-hp officejet 6500 e710n-z-bin' you will see the application named

 

 'hp officejet 6500 e710n-z'.

 

double clicking on that application will launch the main printer interface. under 'scanner actions'

you will see 'activate scan to computer'.

 

you can create a short cut on your desktop or keep coming back here.

Honor Student
Grazza2011
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎09-19-2011
Message 25 of 165 (7,958 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

Hi all.

I am running Win 7 and had the same error with my HP Officejet 6500A Plus.

 

What I found was that in the Windows control panel under Devices and Printers, if I right mouse click on the HP printer and then look at the "Set as default printer" option, I was seeing 3 choices for my printer;

Fax - HP Officejet 6500 E710n-z (Network)

HP Officejet 6500 E710n-z (Network)

HP55891E (HP Offocejet 6500 E710n-z)

 

My default printer was set to the HP55891E (HP Offocejet 6500 E710n-z). When I changed to the HP Officejet 6500 E710n-z (Network), and then run the Activate Scan to Computer, it all worked and I did not get the error window. I have not yet restarted my PC so will have to check if it all works from scratch etc, but this is better than where I was an hour ago!!

 

If this helps anyone it will have been worth the effort.

Student
ubiquityman
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-01-2011
Message 26 of 165 (7,825 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

Grazza2011, thanks for your suggestion.  I tried that, no luck.

 

Computer is a new HP AMD quadcore.

Printer is a 6500A Plus E710n, also brand new.

 

Scanning will not work.  Printing is erratic too.  Print jobs will not print, but when I reboot the computer, the pages print.

 

I uninstalled the printer software and manually installed the 6500A E709n by hand using the built in Win7 drivers.

When I do that, the printer works flawlessly, however scanning still does not work.


UM

Student
malthound65
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-14-2011
Message 27 of 165 (7,716 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

I'm having a similar problem, but in many cases it's even worse.  While I can activate scan to computer from the HP app (and yes, doing this every time is a total PITA), my problem is that I have to reset the printer by cycling the power EVERY TIME I want to activate the feature.  Hear that HP? EVERY FREAKING TIME.  Without exception.  Otherwise, I get an error message saying wither there is no printer found or that there was an "error while activating printer. Please restart your printer and try again."  This problem makes my scanner largely unusable from any reasonable standpoint.  The funny thing is, it prints wirelessly without problem, so there is no network connectivity issue.  I see this as a serious driver issue that HP has yet to fix. 

Student
bentleyblue
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-22-2011
Message 28 of 165 (7,625 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officiate 6500A Plus

hello

Student
deepghosh
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-30-2011
Message 29 of 165 (7,534 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

This feature work nicely out of the box. I just bought a 6500A plus.

 

Just run Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Devices and Printers\HP Officejet 6500 E710n-z (Network)

 

and then click Activate Scan to Computer and it is on permanently. I loveHP!

Top Student
rkpayto
Posts: 7
Member Since: ‎09-02-2011
Message 30 of 165 (7,525 Views)

Re: Activate Scan to Computer? Officejet 6500A Plus

Just went thru your procedure, restarted my computer, scan to computer was not active? Had to manually activate?
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation