Question
Reply
 
Student
bigalal
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎07-28-2013
Message 1 of 11 (532 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

I cannot figure out how to input my speed dial numbers on the printer screen

I have entered my names and numbers already

Provost
ShlomiL
Posts: 9,809
Member Since: ‎01-03-2011
Message 2 of 11 (519 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 Follow the steps below to send a fax using a configured speed dial value:

 

  1. Load the original into the product:
  2. On the product control panel, touch Fax ( ).
  3. Touch the speed dial entry ( ):
     
    Figure 1: The Speed Dial button
    Image: The Speed dial button on the fax window.

4.  Touch the speed dial name, and then touch Start Fax .

 

 

 

 

 

 

Say thanks by clicking the Kudos Star in the post.
If my post resolved your problem, please mark it as as Accepted Solution :smileyhappy:
Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 3 of 11 (458 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

HP 8600-Plus All in One

Can you not just Speed Dial a saved fax number by typing the corresponding Speed dial #???

Like Speed Dial 01  or 08  and not have to scroll through by number or alphabetically and then touch the pad???

We had a hundred or more Speed Dial numbers saved in our previous HP fax machine and we touched "#04" & "Black" and away it went there was no scrolling through all the saved numbers...

I can only find where you have to touch to select after scrolling through all 100 or so we have now saved.

Please help soon we have invoices that need to be sent out!!!!!

Thanks,

Josh in Georgia

Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 4 of 11 (454 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

I do not want to have to search and press a name!!!! That is defeating the speed dial intent!!!!!!!!

My invoices come out of my Sales Order system with a Speed Dial Number on them for which we have already re-programmed the fax number into the new HP8600.  We do not want to have to scroll and touch, that is no longer SPEED dialing that is scroll slowly through seeing 3-4 at a time out of 75...Why is it that our older and Cheaper HP fax had more than only 75 Speed Dial places such as this new fancy 8600 model?  Warning do not buy this model if you need more than 75 speed dial numbers programmed in and if you dont want to hunt and peck through 75 to get to the one you need to SPEEDily send a fax to......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HP Support Agent
Gemini02
Posts: 5,181
Member Since: ‎09-03-2013
Message 5 of 11 (441 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

Hi HPUserGeorgia

 

You can setup up numbers or letters for each fax.

Touch the fax icon, book icon, sort, select desired one. (01-75, a-z)

Then go to the home screen.

Touch the fax icon, # sign then desired number to fax to. (example 05)

You can print out a list of the all the fax numbers in the menu.

 

Here is a document for faxing with the Officejet Pro 8600 Plus.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02921161&tmp_task=useCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&lang...

 

Hope this helps.

Please click “Accept as Solution ” if you feel my post solved your issue, it will help others find the solution.
Click the “Kudos Thumbs Up" on the right to say “Thanks” for helping!



Gemini02
I work on behalf of HP
Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 6 of 11 (437 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

Thanks...We will test this solution, however why does a $300 machine only have 75 Speed dial places, our older, much cheaper HP fax seemed to have had way more than 75 possibly more than 100...

Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 7 of 11 (433 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

The following does not work to speed dial a fax:

 

"Touch the fax icon, # sign then desired number to fax to. (example 05)

You can print out a list of the all the fax numbers in the menu."

 

HP Support Agent
Gemini02
Posts: 5,181
Member Since: ‎09-03-2013
Message 8 of 11 (415 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

Hi HPUserGeorgia

 

I am not sure why the speed dial isn't working.

I did it again on our lab here and it worked properly.

 

Touch the fax icon, book icon, sort, select desired one. (01-75, a-z)

Then go to the home screen.

 

Touch the fax icon, # sign then desired number to fax to. (example 5 not 05)

select black or color, select fax from scanner glass or fax from document feeder, click start fax.

Shows faxing #5

 

If that doesn't work then I would update the printers firmware. Click on the drop down from the url and select your operating system and click on the next button, click firmware and download and run it.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareCategory?os=4063&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&sw_lang=&product=4323...

 

If you need more assistance just let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please click “Accept as Solution ” if you feel my post solved your issue, it will help others find the solution.
Click the “Kudos Thumbs Up" on the right to say “Thanks” for helping!



Gemini02
I work on behalf of HP
Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 9 of 11 (408 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

 This below works of course,

"Touch the fax icon, book icon, sort, select desired one. (01-75, a-z)

Then go to the home screen."

 

BUT this is time consuming to scroll through 75 and find (even with the printed out list) as compared with our older cheaper HP where all you had to do is key in "#03" & the "go" button.  We fax alot of our invoices because tat is what our customers want us to do.  It is not  like we are sending one or two faxes per day.  We send out many daily!!!   We do not have time to scroll and select from the entire list.  The way this machine's fax function's speed dialing works is not suited for our use.

 

   I guess my answer is because we bought an ALL-IN-ONE at 3 times the cost of just simply replacing the old fax with a comparable model.   We were expecting greater performance, but in hind-sight this machine is more about all-in-one than it is FAXING.  You get what you order, so to others reading this, check out every one of the features before you place your order. 

 

 

No one has answered my second question why does this $300 fax only have room for 75 speed dial places??  Who would have thought something more expensive would have less capabilities???

 

 

Thanks to all who have tried to help.  We simply bought the wrong device for our needs....

Tutor
HPUserGeorgia
Posts: 6
Member Since: ‎11-14-2013
Message 10 of 11 (406 Views)

Re: HP 8600 pro how to use the speed-dial to fax

Well that seemed to have gotten a little wordy so I will try a different explanantion:

 

Instead of typing in "#05" and hitting the "Black" button  4 lil key strokes on the old HP fax.....

This new Machine requires all of the following to send same fax:

 

from 4 Touches To 10 touches but with decisions thrown in and a very "Touchy" keypad to boot!!!!

Touch the fax icon,

Touch the book icon,

Touch the sort key,

Touch to select desired one. (01-75, a-z)

Then Touch to go to the home screen.

 

Touch the fax icon,

Touch the # sign then desired number to fax to. (example 5 not 05)

Touch select black or color,

Touch to select fax from scanner glass

or fax from document feeder,

click start fax.

Shows faxing #5

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation