HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working (7436 Views)
Reply
Top Student
Trelogan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 1 of 22 (7,436 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

The HPHNDU sees the printer and the test print is successful. The HPSDU does not see the scanner.

I have already downloaded and reinstalled the full software. Should I try that again or what

Provost
erico
Posts: 23,304
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 2 of 22 (7,435 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

What is the installed operating system?

Have you checked in the device manager to see if you see the scanner in the Imaging Devices section?

If it is there is it enabled?

scan.png

 



****If my suggestion was helpful, you can say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up***

****Please mark Accept As Solution if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having****
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
Trelogan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 3 of 22 (7,432 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Bonjour Enrico,

 

Windows 7 32 bit.

 

The device is working.

 

And the scan function has been activated.

 

I have tried to scan from the printer to the PC and I get the message that it cannot find the OCR function yet I see the ITIS OCR program as (re)installed yesterday?

 

Best regards,

Brian

Provost
erico
Posts: 23,304
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 4 of 22 (7,430 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working


Trelogan wrote:

Bonjour Enrico,

 

Windows 7 32 bit.

 

The device is working.

 

And the scan function has been activated.

 

I have tried to scan from the printer to the PC and I get the message that it cannot find the OCR function yet I see the ITIS OCR program as (re)installed yesterday?

 

Best regards,

Brian


I suggest that you run the HP Scan Diagnostic utility.



****If my suggestion was helpful, you can say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up***

****Please mark Accept As Solution if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having****
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Top Student
Trelogan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 5 of 22 (7,416 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Enrico,

 

The SDU utility identified that the Windows scan (WIA) should be deunstalled and reinstalled. I had already done this yesterday without a positive result.

 

I have deinstalled and reinstalled the printer. Once again the scan function stopped working at about 80% completion. I disactivated the Trend Titanium Internet Security and then the scan worked. Therefore I have 'escalated' the problem to Trend technical support.

 

Many thanks for you input.

Best regards,

Brian

Provost
erico
Posts: 23,304
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 6 of 22 (7,411 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Glad you got it sorted.

 

 



****If my suggestion was helpful, you can say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up***

****Please mark Accept As Solution if my suggestion resolves the issue you were having****
****I am a volunteer, I don't work for HP****


Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
ghager
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Message 7 of 22 (7,334 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

I have the same problem. I've de-installed and re-installed the software several times, run the HPSDU.EXE and its telling me at the Windows-scan (WIA) that the Windows Image services isn't active. 

 

I have followed all options that where given me, but the same problem keeps coming back. HELP!!!

 

See the picture, thanks

 

2012-01-30_1257.png

Top Student
Trelogan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 8 of 22 (7,314 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Reply from Trend:

 

For this situation there is a fix

 

Windows XP/Vista/7 - 32-bit

 

http://knowledgedocs.misgl.com/Facets/Trend/Tools/Titanium2011/amsp_15_win32_hfb6.6.1081.exe

 

Windows Vista/7 - 64-bit

 

http://knowledgedocs.misgl.com/Facets/Trend/Tools/Titanium2011/amsp_15_win64_hfb6.6.1081.exe

 

I would add that this worked for  awhile and I am now experiencing the problem again. I am awaiting an answer from Trend.

Honor Student
ghager
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-30-2012
Message 9 of 22 (7,067 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Hi Trelogan,

 

Did you recieved any answers to your problem? I still experince problems with scanning. 

 

Could somebody else help me?

Top Student
Trelogan
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-11-2012
Message 10 of 22 (6,976 Views)

Re: HP Officejet 6500A E710 scan function not working

Trend said that it was not a problem of their making, rather a problem for HP. I re-installed the latest driver. The scan worked for a few times and then went on the blink again. Sorry that I cannot be of much help!

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation