Question
Reply
 
Student
brownpenny
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-28-2010
Message 1 of 219 (154,572 Views)
Accepted Solution

LCD list needs to be upgraded

I've received this message and don't know how to fix it.  Scanner won't scan

Top Student
BlastAhead
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎04-30-2010
Message 2 of 219 (154,555 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

Me too.  Worked last week but not now.  I believe the exact error message is "LCD list needs to be updated".  On line help is no help and simply gets me to a box to manage shortcuts but nothing, I can find, explains what to do once you get to this point.  Also, I've confirmed that all HP software is current, no outstanding upgrades.  Also, should it really be this hard to get help on something like this?  This process is not helping to make me an HP fan.

Intern
Spurs
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎04-30-2010
Message 3 of 219 (154,548 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

No matter how many times I try and update the LCD list I still keep getting this message as well. And the Panel is not being updated. Very annoying!!!

Intern
Spurs
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎04-30-2010
Message 4 of 219 (154,544 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

OK I have discovered the fix.

 

With the printer still ON, you have to remove the power cord, then remove it from the other end from the power point.

 

Wait 15 to 20 seconds, plug the cord back into the printer, then back into the power point, turn on the printer and your LCD list should be reset.

 

Good old reboot.

PhD Student
prabaa
Posts: 516
Member Since: ‎11-17-2008
Message 5 of 219 (154,492 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

[ Edited ]

 

If you installed via network, then you need to send the 'scan to' settings to the printer to update the LCD list
 
Depends on the hp software, follow following steps to update the 'Scan To' settings to the printer:
HP Solution Center or HP Director
Click Settings , and then click Scan Settings .
Depending on your software version, click the option available to you:
Scan to... Setup
Button settings
Click Scan to... Setup .
Continue with the on-screen instructions to create a list of destinations for scans.
Try scanning again from the printer control panel.
 
Here is the steps available from HP support site.
 

If you installed via network, then you need to send the 'scan to' settings to the printer.
 

Edit by Katie_H (3/30/11): Fixing broken link

 

 

Click on the "Thumbs up"button on the left to say "Thanks"

Please mark the post that solves your problem as "Accepted Solution"
(Although I am employed by HP, I am speaking for myself and not for HP)

Top Student
adb7477
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎10-24-2010
Message 6 of 219 (153,836 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

Yeah, right. So I can look forward to doing this every time I need a new scan ? Ridiculous solution. Nobody in their right mind is going to 'reboot' the printer every **bleep** time they need a scan. Yes, EVERY time, because this 'solution' is NOT permanent ! This printer is a piece of cr_p. It has been nothing but trouble. The salesman said 'simple to operate' ... a caveman could do it. Yeah ... right. All it's good for is target practice.

Student
Watershed
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎11-24-2010
Message 7 of 219 (153,520 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

I see this is happening to more people than me. What was the solution for the "LCD list needs to be upgraded".

Honor Student
chalieg
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-05-2011
Message 8 of 219 (152,444 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

I kept having the same problem... ( in fact I still do) but I found a way to make it scan from the computer when you absolutly need to get something faxed now.. I went to "computer" from the start-up menu. Then clicked on "Network". Double click on your printer that you want to scan from.Mine was the photosmart C410. A webpage for the printer came up. I clicked on the" scan" tab. The scan now button is right there and it works. Then just right click on the scanned image as it tells you and save it to where you need it... I sent mine to Pictures.  I'll have to play around with it to get it to scan from the printer, instead of comamding the printer from the computer, but like I said, its better than nothing and it works.

 

Top Student
al-amili
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎01-15-2011
Message 9 of 219 (152,097 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

Hi everyone

You only need to do the followings;

 

1. turn your printer off

2. turn your printer on

 

and that will sort out the problem

 

Regards

Mr. Al-amili

 

Student
jennagemini
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎02-08-2011
Message 10 of 219 (150,410 Views)

Re: LCD list needs to be upgraded

I have tried sending the 'scan to' settings to the printer to update numerous times as well as turn the d_mn thing on and off AND unplug it for several minutes.... Nothing works! Everytime I hit the "scan" button on the device and select my computer, it doesn't ask me what it would like me to scan to (i.e. doc/pdf, jpeg, etc...) like it used to. It says "Scanning..." and then doesn't and I get the error message "LCD list needs to be upgraded" on my computer where I click ok and it brings me to where I need to update the list.... AGAIN!!!.... I'm about to pitch this printer out the window!

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation