Question

Honor Student
joeloesch
Message 1 of 8 (11,752 Views)
Accepted Solution

Printer will not print photos on 4x6 photo paper, even when I tell the print menu to use 4x6.

I have chosen the 4x6 photo paper choice in the print menu. This is the advice that HP posted in answer to another request for help, and the obvious, logical solution. But the printer driver (?) disregards this, and simply prints everything in 4x6 SIZE, on an 8.5 x 11 piece of paper.

I am working with Windows 7. TWO of your printers are refusing to print on the paper: An HP Photosmart 6515, and a 6510.

Please advise, or I have to return these defective printers to the store I bought them from.

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 8 (11,704 Views)

Re: Printer will not print photos on 4x6 photo paper, even when I tell the print menu to use 4x6.

This may offer some help:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02997975&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5058336&tmp...

007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
Top Student
GR8fulHman
Message 3 of 8 (11,635 Views)

Re: Printer will not print photos on 4x6 photo paper, even when I tell the print menu to use 4x6.

First off, I have to say the HP people that have answered this and several similar questions have pointed everyone in the wrong direction.  Most often, they direct you to a link that tells you to go through all these ridiculous steps of taking out your paper and re-inserting it, reseting the printer, etc. all to no avail. 

This problem stems from the HP driver not correctly installing on Windows (I have windows 7).  After going though all the pointless steps, I decided to go look at the device drivers settings and sure enough, the only installed paper/tray setting was for tray 1 with letter paper.  Once I added a paper option for tray 2 (the photo tray), it worked just fine.

So to spell it out in finer detail: