connecting 6350 scanner to network (813 Views)
Reply
Top Student
vgbaron
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-12-2010
Message 1 of 6 (813 Views)

connecting 6350 scanner to network

[ Edited ]

If I connect a 6350 scanner to my network and assign it a dedicated ip -

 

1) if the software is installed on a workstation - will it trigger when the scan is initiated?

 

2) If yes to above - what happens if software is installed on two workstations - will both fire when scan is initiated?

 

3) want to confirm that 6350 will scan to PDF format.

 

Basically what I want - connect scanner to network and have it be available to several workstations so that when user puts document in scanner the software pops up on the correct computer.

 

Hope that makes sense.  System is MS Server 2003 and XP workstations.

 

Thanx,

 

Vic

Teacher
scandroid
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎10-20-2009
Message 2 of 6 (805 Views)

Re: connecting 6350 scanner to network

vgbaron,

 

I'll try to answer your questions.

 

I would recommend configuring your printer with a static (dedicated) ip address.  There are less problems with the software trying to discover the printer when it's always at the same IP address.

 

1) Yes it will trigger a scan.

2) It will ask you which workstation do you want to do the scanning on.

3) Yes.

 

I don't know if MS Server 2003 is a supported OS for the 6350.

 

I work for HP, but these words are mine alone.
Top Student
vgbaron
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-12-2010
Message 3 of 6 (803 Views)

Re: connecting 6350 scanner to network

ok that makes sense. I have found out that the software does not support MSS2003  but that's not a problem.

 

So if I had the N6350 connected to the network via a switch, with a static IP, and had the software installed on 3 workstations:

 

1) at the scanner, I could initiate a scan and it would ask which workstation?

 

and/or

 

2) Start the software from the workstation and connect and initiate the scan from there?

 

Thanx,

 

Vic

Teacher
scandroid
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎10-20-2009
Message 4 of 6 (798 Views)

Re: connecting 6350 scanner to network

vgbaron,

 

You can do both.

I work for HP, but these words are mine alone.
Top Student
vgbaron
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-12-2010
Message 5 of 6 (796 Views)

Re: connecting 6350 scanner to network

Great!

 

Just ordered the N6350 - should have it next week. Will set it up and if I have any issues, I'll be back, however it makes sense.

 

I appreciate your help!

 

Vic

Student
lnlbro
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 6 of 6 (123 Views)

Re: connecting 6350 scanner to network

I just installed a N6350 on my network with a fixed IP.  Can I save the documents to a forlder on our server. 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation