Question
Reply
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-16-2012
Message 1 of 9 (7,418 Views)

officejet 6600 scan to computer

HP Officejet 6600 e-All-in-One Printer - H711a/H711g on Windows XP

 

I just installed this printer on my computer at work on the network and everything seems to work fine.  The problem I am having is that every morning when I get to work, the "scan to computer" feature is unavailable and the scan icon in the task bar has an X through it.  If I open the dialog box, it shows that it is still enabled.  I tried clicking the "disable" button and then enabling it again and the little scan icon on the task bar goes away but only for a few seconds, then it's back.  I tried resetting the power on the printer to no avail.  I have the "automatically start scan to computer when I log onto Windows" box checked.  I don't log off of Windows at the end of the day, so it should stay enabled shouldn't it?  Is there a way to keep it enabled even when my computer sits idle overnight?  The only solution that seems to work is to log off of Windows and log back on.

Reply
0
Distinguished Professor
Posts: 2,893
Member Since: ‎02-03-2010
Message 2 of 9 (7,410 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

Hi,

 

Please update the firmware to the latest version from link below.

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=mp-106604-2&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en...

Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

--Say "Thanks" by clicking the Kudos Star in the post that helped you.
--Please mark the post that solves your problem as "Accepted Solution"
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-16-2012
Message 3 of 9 (7,406 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

I am already running the current FW version MIM2CN1232AR

Distinguished Professor
Posts: 2,893
Member Since: ‎02-03-2010
Message 4 of 9 (7,401 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

Hi,

 

Please follow the steps mentioned in the document below.

 

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03149924&tmp_task=solveCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&la...

Although I am an HP employee, I am speaking for myself and not for HP.

--Say "Thanks" by clicking the Kudos Star in the post that helped you.
--Please mark the post that solves your problem as "Accepted Solution"
Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-16-2012
Message 5 of 9 (7,374 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

So I have to enable and disable this feature everytime I want to scan something?  I scan documents all throughout the day, this could get extremely irritating after a short time.  Why does it lose connection?  Solve that and solve the issue.  By the way, I am running software version 025.000.619.000, which obviously does not fall within your stated 23 through 24.6 versions.

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-16-2012
Message 6 of 9 (7,373 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

Actually, I just tried this method and it still doesn't work.  It worked for the first scan, but once I disabled it and tried to scan again, I get the following error.

warning.JPG

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-30-2013
Message 7 of 9 (7,196 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

The software is terrible, feature Scan to computer would have been nice if it worked :smileysad:

Top Student
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎10-16-2012
Message 8 of 9 (7,190 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

My work computer (which is where I use this scanner/feature) was recently replaced with a new computer running Windows 7 and so far I haven't had the problem anymore.  Maybe it's a glitch with XP.

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎01-30-2013
Message 9 of 9 (7,188 Views)

Re: officejet 6600 scan to computer

[ Edited ]

I am using Windows 7 Pro 64bit. Sometimes it works ok, sometimes is not. Also, if I have another user logged in, the scanned document may go to his/her Documents folder... 

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation