Question
Reply
 
Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 1 of 17 (37,364 Views)
Accepted Solution

Enable hardware virtualization?

I have a TouchSmart IQ507 I believe, dual core Core 2 Duo type model.  So how do I enable hardware virtualization in the bios, because there is no option for it?  Running virtual machines is like a dog on this machine because I can't get the hardware feature enabled.
Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 2 of 17 (37,323 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

Can you provide an answer HP?  I know I have to enable the feature in the BIOS but your BIOS is preventing me from doing so by not providing an interface to it.
Master's Graduate
JimT
Posts: 578
Member Since: ‎11-29-2008
Message 3 of 17 (37,288 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

is there anywhere that enhancement requests can be submitted for touchsmart firmware? if there is then this would be a good candidate....
HP ENVY 17-j005tx Notebook, HP ENVY Recline 27-k001a, HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G2020T, HP MediaSmart EX495 Server, HP MediaVault 2020, HP ENVY 120 AiO Printer
Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 4 of 17 (37,285 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

I agree, that would be very nice to know.  I love having the support of a large OEM but I've never been happy with the limitations they impose on BIOS options.
Master's Graduate
JimT
Posts: 578
Member Since: ‎11-29-2008
Message 5 of 17 (37,192 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

hmm, bit disappointed really - just run the intel identification utility and see that the processor does not support virtualization..

 

HP ENVY 17-j005tx Notebook, HP ENVY Recline 27-k001a, HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 G2020T, HP MediaSmart EX495 Server, HP MediaVault 2020, HP ENVY 120 AiO Printer
Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 6 of 17 (37,175 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

You are correct;

 

http://www.intel.com/products/processor/core2duo/mobile/specifications.htm

 

All of the T5x50 models are lacking Virtualization.

 

I have the T5850 as well;

http://processorfinder.intel.com/Details.aspx?sSpec=SLA4C

 

Ok, time for a new question then, well 2 technically.

 

Will the iq507 support the intel T7xx chips that run at 667mhz?  T7200, T7400, and T7600  I know the bios has to support them of course but the 2 main issues that might stop them from being usable is the thermal spec is 100C instead of 85C and the voltage range is 1.0375 - 1.30V instead of 1.075V-1.175V so the motherboard has to provide the higher voltage, the cooling system has to be able to handle the higher dissipation, and power supply the overall voltage needs.

 

Question 2, if I can upgrade to one of these, will I then have Virtualization support enabled?

Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 7 of 17 (37,177 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

Hmmmm the Pegatron IMISR-CF (Eve) specifications page on HP's site states;

 

  • Socket: P (for mobile processors)
  • Supports the following processors:
    • Core 2 Duo (M core) 35W max
    • Core 2 Duo (P core) 35W max
      NOTE: Supports P core with front side bus speed of 800MHz only.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01489642&lc=en&dlc=cs&cc=cz&product=3762388〈=cs

 

If it'll use the Socket P 35W 800mz chips that means the T7500, T7700, T8100, T8300, and T9300 CPUs.

The T8xxx and T9xxx are the new 45nm versions that use less power and also have higher cache on them.

 

I also see the IQ818 uses the same motherboard and comes with a T8100.  It has a 230 PSU but it also has a much more powerful video card too.

 

So HP, which of these can I put in my IQ507 with the stock PSU?

Student
CessMaster
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎10-07-2011
Message 8 of 17 (25,142 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

Hi! :smileyhappy: I have an HP Pavilion dv5-1210el. Can I enable hardware virtualization on my pc model?

Tutor
brentil
Posts: 16
Member Since: ‎02-06-2009
Message 9 of 17 (25,130 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

According to HP you have a T4200 CPU in that device.  If so according to Intel no you can not.

 

http://ark.intel.com/products/37251/Intel-Pentium-Processor-T4200-(1M-Cache-2_00-GHz-800-MHz-FSB)

 



Intel® Virtualization Technology (VT-x)

No

Honor Student
swais
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎11-14-2011
Message 10 of 17 (23,892 Views)

Re: Enable hardware virtualization?

HI i have HP Pavilion DV4 how i can enable virtualization pleas your assistant

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation