Question
HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!
Replies (16)
Reply
Tutor
Posts: 11
Member Since: ‎01-26-2014
Message 11 of 17 (225 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

Hi,

 

My display adapters are

1) Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600

2) NVIDA GeForce GT 730A

 

I recently uninstalled both and restarted the computer, and then both drivers came back after a reinstallation (or what i think it was) and the computer is functioning normally, but still HDMI isn't working. Pls let me know the proper way to reinstall both drivers.

 

Thanks

Provost
Posts: 28,052
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 12 of 17 (190 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

Reinstall the NVIDA GeForce GT 730A driver.

 

Do not install the Intel HD graphics driver seperately as the NVIDIA driver software package will do that for you on its own. If the Intel driver is installed seperately the switchable graphics feature will stop working.

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem so others facing the same problem can find the solution easily****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Tutor
Posts: 11
Member Since: ‎01-26-2014
Message 13 of 17 (155 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

Sorry I replied so late as I've been to busy lately. Can I confirm if by reinstalling, you mean deleting the NVIDA driver from the Device Manager and restarting the computer?

Tutor
Posts: 11
Member Since: ‎01-26-2014
Message 14 of 17 (137 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

Hi, no matter, I already downloaded the latest version of the driver from Nvidia and updated it, but still the HDMI button doesn't work. Now what??

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎02-18-2015
Message 15 of 17 (43 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

I have a slightly different PC (23-k100xt) but it also has an HDMI button.

 

I use this PC as a monitor for an older desktop.

 

The HDMI button worked flawlessly when I first got the PC.

I could switch the screen output back and forth from the HP and the old desktop.

 

A couple of months after I got the PC, I noticed there was a BIOS update for my machine.

 

After updating the BIOS, the button does not work like it used to!

 

I can only switch to the old PC during the boot process of the old PC.

But once the old PC sits with windows on the desktop, I can switch to the HP output, but I cannot switch back to the old PC output.

 

When I try to go back to the output on the old PC by pushing the button, it says "Game Mode No Video Input" on top of a blank screen.  It then puts me back to the output on the HP.  So I can never get back to the old PC output again--unless I re-boot the old PC.

 

Very annoying.   I may try going back to the older BIOS, but I don't want to cause even worse problems!

Provost
Posts: 28,052
Member Since: ‎01-07-2009
Message 16 of 17 (33 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

In the latest version of the PC Diagnostics that your AIO desktop PC has there is a firmware management section that will allow you to rollback the BIOS to the previous version. It should be completely painless. This is one of the supreme advantages of the new UEFI BIOS and Diagnostic environment.

 

You can install the latest version of the UEFI Diagnostics for your PC. See the following link.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=cp-142621-1&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en...

****Please click on Accept As Solution if a suggestion solves your problem so others facing the same problem can find the solution easily****

2015 Microsoft MVP - Microsoft Windows Expert - Consumer

Honor Student
Posts: 2
Member Since: ‎02-18-2015
Message 17 of 17 (29 Views)

Re: HDMI not working. Nothing happens when I press the HDMI button!!!

I had talked to an HP tech who suggested the same thing. So I went there, but there was no rollback available.

He suggested getting the older BIOS by going to the HP site and entering "Windows 8" instead of "Windows 8.1" (even though I have 8.1) and I would get two choices for the BIOS:  My current one and the previous one.

 

I did that and downloaded the prior one.  I'm just leery of installing it (as I mentioned).

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation