Question
Reply
 
Top Student
donduck35
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-15-2011
Message 1 of 9 (1,618 Views)

Sound not working Touchsmart 600

Sound not working on touchsmart 600. I shut down the computer ,went on vacation and when I return the internal speakers staticed and the sound faded  away. Anything I play has NO sound. I went through all the helps but it does the same thing every time. Oh and the volume keys do not control static.

Associate Professor
frrw
Posts: 1,722
Member Since: ‎12-05-2010
Message 2 of 9 (1,609 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

Hello: Have you tried hooking up external speakers or head phones to see if it is a software issue or iff your speaker went bad in the computer? Did you run a diagnostic using HP Support Assistant ? What did that tell you? If it a software or drive issue run a check disc. Check disk will automatically fix drivers and software issues.

Top Student
donduck35
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-15-2011
Message 3 of 9 (1,607 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

I had tried head phones with the same res showed no problemslt.I did run a diagnostic and it showed no problems.I will run a disc check.One other thing when I do play audio the meter in the slider  jumps up and down like audio is playing. I dont know if that makes any differance but, anyway. Im thinking it might be a hardware issue? Thanks for helping.

Honor Student
golden143
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-04-2011
Message 4 of 9 (1,575 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

did you ever find a solution to your problem.

I have the same thing happeing to me and it's driving me crazy.

Top Student
donduck35
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-15-2011
Message 5 of 9 (1,571 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

Nope. Spent two nights with support, reformatted and all. Its on its way to HP. 

Honor Student
golden143
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-04-2011
Message 6 of 9 (1,530 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

Any word back from HP? I feel like throwing my through the window.

Is your computer still under warranty?

I have to do something with mine but i have a feeling office max is going to be expensive.

Top Student
donduck35
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-15-2011
Message 7 of 9 (1,518 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

It was under warranty . They ended up replacing the motherboard. I just got it back and now it won't even start. Arrgh.
Honor Student
golden143
Posts: 4
Member Since: ‎07-04-2011
Message 8 of 9 (1,498 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

That sucks... I just paid $25 for a usb sound card and everything works fine now. That was after spending 3hrs and $49.99 with HP support only for them to tell me it was a hardware problem and try to sell me a new computer.

I'm definately glad i bout the usb sound card.

Top Student
donduck35
Posts: 5
Member Since: ‎06-15-2011
Message 9 of 9 (1,495 Views)

Re: Sound not working Touchsmart 600

I wish I'd taken your route. I've called support twice now it's went to voice mail twice now,with no one returning call. Arghh So frustrated.
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation