TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems (10070 Views)
Reply
Tutor
ANTDADDY
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Message 1 of 59 (10,070 Views)

TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

I have a Touchsmart IQ770 with wireless access problems.  My HP pavillion and HP photosmart printer work just fine with the Linksys wireless network setup and guest computers have no issues after I give the key to connect to my network.  The touchsmart was fine until it began to periodically drop its connection settings.  Though I have set and reset the computer to access the network, I cannot get it connected.  The device manager indicates that the hp 802.11 wireless LAN is "working properly", the NVIDIA nForce networking controller is "working properly" and the corresponding drivers are already updated to the most current and effective version.  All this and yet no connection. 

 

The diagnosis tools in VISTA (32 bit) say there may be issues with the NVIDIA NETWORKING CONTROLLER or the drivers.  The computer recognizes my wireless network (and others nearby) and shows "limited connectivity", which tells me the wireless card is working to some extent.  I hope this issue is familiar to someone.  If not, I have a glorified, $1400 word processor, and probably my last HP since the repair of the network card seems complex (I have looked at the online manuals) because you can't find the thing.  I have had issues with every HP product with the exception of the printers.  I think 3 laptops and 2 desktops have been a fair sampling.   

Honor Student
hedleylamarr
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Message 2 of 59 (9,998 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

Same Problem. Thought maybe it was the Linksys Cable Gateway. Being intresting to see if anyone has an answer.

 

thanks

Tutor
ANTDADDY
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Message 3 of 59 (9,981 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

Hedley,  I am hoping to hear from someone with an answer.  I am glad to know I am not alone with this problem though I would not wish this upon anyone.  By the way, the computer does not do any better with a direct cable to the router (in my case).  Is it me, or is HP a bit paltry with the repair and layout manual?
PhD Student
Rixander
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 4 of 59 (9,959 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

get the update for your computer a

go to hp dot com 

 

have the router check and how old is it 

make sure it is not failing 

i have heard folks at the store 

found out the router quits working 

 

the cable connection should be always 

connected and on 

 

Please provide Kudos to whom has provided answers or
good points or advice..
Aslo if the questions or issues solved please check it
"Accepted"
Thanks and you are welcome _____ Rick
Tutor
ANTDADDY
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Message 5 of 59 (9,956 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

Thanks Rickp,  I have gotten the update and loaded it twice.  The router is less than 2 weeks old and is a replacement for a previous linksys router which I thought was having problems though no other computer had problems connecting to the network.  The same conditions exist though I have a better router than the previous wireless g.  I can provide the network key to any laptop and immediately connect.  The TouchSmart just does not seem so smart right now, and its IQ is far below 60 right now.  I would have to believe that a router malfunction would lead to the same problem with all other computers attempting to utilize the network.  Please advise if you come across others with this issue who have found resolution... other than relegating this thing to the garage to track items stored there! 

PhD Student
Rixander
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 6 of 59 (9,947 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

[ Edited ]

how far away from the router you are from

if their are 1 bar instead of 4 or 5

 you will lose connections 2 bar or less

 

the bar i am talking about you will see at the 

right bottom of the screen of the task bar 

unless hidden 

 

you can always look for the status  through 

the networ somewhere 

you should find the connection type 

and should show  like 2 computer on each end 

and below is the numbers which mean transfered

 

Message Edited by rickp400 on 12-26-2008 12:19 PM
Please provide Kudos to whom has provided answers or
good points or advice..
Aslo if the questions or issues solved please check it
"Accepted"
Thanks and you are welcome _____ Rick
Tutor
ANTDADDY
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Message 7 of 59 (9,846 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

Thanks again for the reply.  The router literally sits on the back of the Touchsmart.  The other computers are usually greater than 15 feet away from the router yet routine surfing and internet access proves to be no problem even on the 1st floor at the furthest point from the router (for the laptops).   The touchsmart is not dropping connection. It just never makes a useful connection even though it indicates that it recognizes the networks available. 

 

HP has made me more adept at recognizing junk disguised as a novel, progressive technology.  I am resigned to eat my loss on this one.  They won't get me again... or anyone who will listen to me in the future.

PhD Student
Rixander
Posts: 875
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
Message 8 of 59 (9,809 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

[ Edited ]

something is not right

you connection should  not be blocked or whatever

first you need to check and see if

like the antivirus and it firewall is not blocking your internet

and also check the windows firewall

if the internet explorer is set to max protection

i doubt it would  

check the option tabs

you will find it under the tools >> options

and the tabs are security, privacy  and content

check those out

expecially the security which have cookies settings

the high setting prevents the cookies to be on your computer

preventing certain site from being on your computer

some site require to allow cookies to be on that site for surfing

i would check it out and adjust the settings

my setting are set to medium low to medium high

 

also the highlighted part above the page just under the icons and title bar

 if there is the yellow highlight  it is the prompt to allow certain things

like the active x and saving file to your computer  will prompt

and click ok on the trusted sites that you know

but if not sure about the site that you visited

do not go to that site and if the site is bad

that you know of stay away from it

there are some site that will effect your computer

for an example like hacking and putting virus

that is why folks need to put a protection software to block

known dangerous site to protect your computer

some site have what you call html code

may not be there intention on some good ones

but those html codes can affected your computer

that is why a protection software will prompt you

about the site and let you know what the issue is

and if you trust the site click ok

 

 

and one of the good browser is the firefox (FF)

under the name mozilla

i use firefox alot which i like better

more secure than IE that i know of

the version i used is FF3 also have FF2

you can google firefox and go to it and download it

you can surf the internet like you can on the IE

 

Message Edited by rickp400 on 01-01-2009 10:58 AM
Please provide Kudos to whom has provided answers or
good points or advice..
Aslo if the questions or issues solved please check it
"Accepted"
Thanks and you are welcome _____ Rick
Top Student
brianuk04
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-25-2008
Message 9 of 59 (9,777 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

I had tha same problems after reinstallation of hard drive

The following resolved mine I not expert enough to knnow which solved the problem but it now working OK  BrianUK

NVIDIA - system - nForce Memory Controller

Installation date: ‎03/‎12/‎2008 18:20

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Optional

Driver update provided by NVIDIA for support of nForce Memory Controller

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=10799257

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

Atheros Communications Inc. - Network - HP 802.11abg wireless LAN

Installation date: ‎03/‎12/‎2008 18:17

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Optional

DriverUpdate: Atheros Communications Inc. Network software update released in May, 2007

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=20048902

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

nVidia - Network - NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

Installation date: ‎03/‎12/‎2008 18:14

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Optional

nVidia Network software update released in May, 2007

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=20073109

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

NVIDIA - system - nForce Memory Controller

Installation date: ‎03/‎12/‎2008 18:14

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Optional

Driver update provided by NVIDIA for support of nForce Memory Controller

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=10799257

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

NVIDIA - system - nForce HyperTransport Bridge

Installation date: ‎03/‎12/‎2008 18:09

Installation status: Successful

Update type: Optional

Driver update provided by NVIDIA for support of nForce HyperTransport Bridge

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=10799257

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

Tutor
ANTDADDY
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Message 10 of 59 (9,562 Views)

Re: TouchSmart IQ770 Wireless connection problems

Thanks Rick, I had removed the firewall as an issue by turning it off.  I removed the antivirus (zonealarm) and even removed all traces of it by editing the registry.  Other than recognizing the network, the unit just does not connect to the internet via the wireless network or when connected directly to the router.  I just bought a new system, hooked it up and voila... no connection or network issues.  The photosmart will become a glorified backup hard drive and TV now.  I won't waste time or money for it anymore.  Thanks for your recomendations. 
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation