Question

Honor Student
Serkaii
Message 1 of 8 (6,288 Views)
Accepted Solution

HP ENVY dv6 losing wireless connection periodically.

Hello everyone,

First, thank you to anyone willing or able to assist with my issue, I appreciate the assistance.

I purchased an HP ENVY dv6 Notebook from Costco today, running Windows 8, an Atheros AR9485 adapter, and connecting to a Belkin Surf N300 Wireless N Router - Model# F7D6301 v3.

My problem is, in the past 6-7 hours of usage, I've lost connection 3 separate times. The first two times was fairly brief, lasting only a few minutes. I closed out the Internet Explorer Application, and upon reopening it and attempting to connect again, worked fine. The last occurrence, however, lasted 15-20 minutes and finally resulted in me just hard wiring it in.

I'm brand new to HP computers, and Windows 8 all together, so I'm not sure where to start first. I've searched around the web, and on the forums here, but haven't found a fix.

I use the wireless router daily (hard wired) for my Xbox 360, and rarely, if ever, has issues connecting.

Please let me know if I can provide more information / details to help get the issue resolved.

Again, thank you!

Provost
Paul_Tikkanen
Message 2 of 8 (6,267 Views)

Re: HP ENVY dv6 losing wireless connection periodically.

Hi:

Check the driver version in the device manager, and if it is older than the one below, see if installing the latest driver for the wireless card in your notebook helps.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=32...

Honor Student
Serkaii
Message 3 of 8 (6,259 Views)

Paul_Tikkanen, thank you for your advice. I downloaded the the most recent Atheros AR9000 Series Wireless LAN Driver.