HP Pavilion dv6000 Wireless adapter missing, plz help! (32279 Views)
Student
Jimmy_85
Message 1 of 25 (32,279 Views)

HP Pavilion dv6000 Wireless adapter missing, plz help!

I have a hp pavilion dv6000 (GA452UA#ABA).  Has AMD processor, and using 32-bit windows vista o.s.  All of a sudden my wireless adaptor stopped working, the light changed to amber, regardless of turned on or off, and the device is missing altogether from my network adaptors in my device manager.  I researched, and see its a fairly common problem, one that HP says is solved by downloading the newest version of BIOS settings.  I downloaded the newest version F.3D  sp.38061.exe.   I believe it downloaded and installed correctly, although it did not fix the problem.  My wireless adapter is still missing for all intensive purposes, with only a amber light remaining.  How do I fix this?!  I've read others talk about changing BIOS setting manually, but I'm no BIOS expert, and know I can cause a lot of problems screwing around in there without knowing what I'm doing, so if thats how you fixed (same model) than could you please explain steps in detail.  Or any other solutions plz?!  HELP!
Top Student
bmaggiore3
Message 2 of 25 (32,262 Views)

Re: HP Pavilion dv6000 Wireless adapter missing, plz help!

i'm having the exact same issue.  everybody keeps telling me to download a new driver, but i cant get onto the interent to download it.  i tried hooking it directly to my modem, but it wont  work either.  if you get an answer and get ur computer fixed please let me know how to fix it.  i'm pretty sure i'm running the most current BIOS system as well.  my BIOS says F.27...how do i update it if i cant connect to the interent??????????
Top Student
joeywang999
Message 3 of 25 (32,246 Views)