Question
Reply
 
Honor Student
davidclark999
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 1 of 10 (1,131 Views)

Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection on but Norton says I have? I am using Windows 8 on a pavillion g6 laptop

Top Student
ljackpape
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 2 of 10 (1,121 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

I'm experiencing the same issue with same message. I've Norton scanning to check and all is working fine. Why does HP consistantly say I'm not protected?

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Posts: 4,472
Member Since: ‎10-09-2012
Message 3 of 10 (1,097 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Hello davidclark999 and ljackpape.  I understand you're curious why HPSA says you're not protected.

First, Norton does not contain Spyware protection as it is an anti-virus.  Spyware is a slightly different type of malicious software.  I suggest Spybot Search & Destroy or MalwareBytes for spyware/adware protection.

If you open your Norton do you see anything about a firewall?  If not then you could use Windows Firewall.  This article can show you how to activate it.

Let me know if this helps.  I hope you two have a great night!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white star under my name to give me Kudos as a way to say "Thanks!"

Click the "Accept as Solution" button if I resolve your issue.

Honor Student
davidclark999
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 4 of 10 (1,077 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Thank you for your reply. The Norton prodct I'm using is Norton Internet Security whch says it includes firewall and anti spyware. Still don't understand why HP tells me I'n not protected, but I'll rely on Norton being correct!!

Regents Professor
AttackofZaq
Posts: 4,472
Member Since: ‎10-09-2012
Message 5 of 10 (1,073 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Good morning davidclark999.

That is strange, then.  Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling HP Support Assistant?  Here is a direct link.

Have a good day!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white star under my name to give me Kudos as a way to say "Thanks!"

Click the "Accept as Solution" button if I resolve your issue.

Honor Student
davidclark999
Posts: 3
Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Message 6 of 10 (1,061 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

I've uninstalled and reinstalld HP Support Assistant and it still comes up with the same warning

Student
liverbird95
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-16-2013
Message 7 of 10 (1,008 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

I am having the exact same problem. i have norton 360 and it says that my laptop is secure with firewall security and antivirus, i wasn't having any problems though until i had a recent windows 8 update, could that be the reason?

Distinguished Professor
anthony82
Posts: 2,800
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 8 of 10 (957 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Hello liverbird95,

 

You’re having a problem with support assistant giving you a false error.

 

The updates could have caused this. When its software one thing can affect anything.

 

Since it was pretty recent I would run a system restore. This will take the system back to before the problem without affecting your files.

 

Here is a link to a restore.

 

Let me know how everything goes,

Student
mykey2x
Posts: 1
Member Since: ‎03-19-2013
Message 9 of 10 (943 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

hp support says my firewall is off and norton says it is on any suggestions

Distinguished Professor
anthony82
Posts: 2,800
Member Since: ‎02-19-2013
Message 10 of 10 (922 Views)

Re: Why does HP assistant say I have no firewall or spyware protection

Hello mykey2x,

 

I think that the problem that you’re having is from an install of an update that changed a setting in support assistant.

 

Run a System Restore and it should correct the problem.

 

Here is a link for a restore.

Windows 7

Windows 8

 

Before the restore you might make sure that Norton is up to date.

You might also uninstall Support Assistant.

 

Here is a link to reinstall from recovery manager.

 

Clicking the White Kudos star on the left is a way to say Thanks!

 

Let me know how everything goes.

Have a good day.

† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation