Question

Honor Student
garyzb
Message 1 of 12 (30,231 Views)

wifi mini port adapter

[ Edited ]

I am getting two error messages after setting up a wireless network and trying to install a network printer.

1) Microsoft Virtual Wifi mini port adapter has a driver problem.

2) Keyboard filter doesn't have a driver.

I am new to networks and both of these issues are unknown to me. I did try to search the computer for the drivers but without success. I am just lost as to what to do next.

The laptop is a compaq cq61-313us running windows 7 (64 bit).
Message Edited by garyzb on 10-25-2009 05:11 PM
Message Edited by garyzb on 10-25-2009 05:12 PM
Student
jyellak
Message 2 of 12 (30,041 Views)

Re: wifi mini port adapter

Having the exact same problem with the exact same machine
Student
jippo
Message 3 of 12 (30,004 Views)

I have the same issue with the exact machine. I disabled the device and noticed no ill effects.

Student
Mike12175
Message 4 of 12 (29,991 Views)

I have the same problem - same machine as well. Brand new out of the box, I happened to go to "Devices and Printers" - and then pushed "add a Device" - and moments later I had a Windows 7 blue screen.

When I rebooted, I opened Device Manager and found that Windows had tried to install Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter - only it showed a yellow error flag. Opening properties reveals that this device did not install correctly - and it indicates that drivers could not be located.

I've tried to troubleshoot this with HP support, but I've been getting a huge runaround. Their "solutions" so far are:

1. Remove the wireless card and then reset it (emailed me a video on how to do this)
  2. Flash the BIOS from the version it shipped with (F.04) to F.03
  3. Asked me if I am trying to install a printer - I am not & never mentioned a printer