Question

Student
nidge1969
Message 1 of 11 (5,795 Views)

iPhone App printing to my printer?

Hi!

Am I missing something in the iPhone app? I want to configure it to print to my printer when I'm NOT on my home network... There doesn't seem to be a setting for this... Is "Enterprise Printing" required for something as simple as printing to your own printer?

Any help would be great!

thanks

Professor
007OHMSS
Message 2 of 11 (5,746 Views)

Re: iPhone App printing to my printer?

The following is from this webpage/links:  iPrint for iPhone
HP iPrint Photo leverages Apple's Bonjour technology to automatically identify HP wireless printers or other supported HP printers available on your network. You can only print to supported HP printers on a local wireless network.
007OHMSS

I was a support engineer for HP.

If the advice resolved the situation, please mark it as a solution. Thank you.
PhD Student
Praveen_David
Message 3 of 11 (5,681 Views)

I am assuming that you have an ePrint enabled printer. So with iPhone we can use it in 3 different ways for printing:

1) HP iPrint 3.0 - App from HP which needs to installed in your iPhone

2) AirPrint - Feature enabled if ur iOS 4.2 in iPhone

3) ePrint - Sending an email to print

To use any of the above or all 3 features, the printer should be connected in network.

First two features require the printer and iPhone to be connected to same local network and the 3rd feature is simply sending an email to print.

Say "Thanks" by clicking the Kudos Star in the post that helped you.

Please mark the post that solves your problem as "Accepted Solution"
Honor Student
Dalece
Message 4 of 11 (4,788 Views)

I have an HP Photosmart C4700 printer. It is connected to the Apple time capsule with an IP address configured to be able to scan to any computer through the Time Capsule.

So how can the iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch be configured to print to the printer? it is not an ePrint printer.