Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Post new question
Question

Intern
Message 1 of 7 (783 Views)

Display Card Question

Product Name: HP 3D SLS Dual Camera
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

I am a total newbie to 3D scanning and I am awaiting delivery of my new scanner.  When I receive the scanner, I need to get up and running quickly as I have an immediate project I need it for.  So even though I will have the dual camera setup (with turntable), I may only setup one camera at first to complete this project.

But I have a question regarding setup.  I have several  different workstations and haven't decided which one will be used with the new scanner.

I would like to use my Dell Precision Workstation laptop (Nvidia Quadro 3800M) to drive the scanner but it only has 3 USB ports and one of them is occupied by the mouse... so essentially, only 2 USB ports will be available on this computer.

I also have an older Dell Precision Workstation (Nvidia Quadro 3400) which has plently of USB ports (but I may have to swap out some software dongles to make ports available).

My main workstation (dual Quadro 5000s)-I built this one- has numerous USB ports (but I may have to remove some other software dongles to accomodate the 3D scanner).

My questions are...

1.  On this main workstation, the dual Quadro 5000s drive a 4 monitor desktop.  If I had to use this workstation to drive the 3D scanner, will my dual Quadro 5000s somehow prohibit the scanner setup?  Would I have to disable one of the cards to use the scanner?

2.  How many USB ports are needed for one camera and the turntable?  I'm guessing only 2?

Thanks!

Mike

0 Kudos
Grad Student
Message 2 of 7 (769 Views)

Re: Display Card Question

How many USB ports are needed:

1x USB Dongle

1x Turntable

1x Cam

1x Cam (2 camera setup)

Watch out if you have HP 3D Pro S3 scanner, you need to use USB 3 ports. Hub is always interesting solution.