Having trouble signing in? Try this!
Post new question
Question

Honor Student
Message 1 of 9 (907 Views)

PC Hardware To Achieve Decent Performance

Product Name: S3 3D Scanner
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

I am new to the realm of 3D scanning and in the education/research phase prior to making a purchase. I would like some clarity on some conflicting opinions I hace been reading online regarding hardware requirements for 3D scanning and in particular the HP V5.3 software. I am on a budget and realize there is a point of diminishing returns so I prefer to build a system in the mid-range of performance/cost spectrum. The goal is to scan lifesize sculptures of newborn babies and print a copy of the sculpture on a 3D printer.

1. Reccomended CPU
    1. Does the HP software enefit from multi-core CPU or is it mainly single thread application?
    2. Any compatiblity issues known for AMD vs Intel
    3. Any reccomendations for solid mid-range performer.
  2. Grafics card. nVidia GEFORCE GTX vs one if the Quadro line (I see a lot of reccomendation for Quadro crds for CAD systems).
  3. I have also seen some recommendations to have a cheaper machine for the scanning and a workhorse to export the files to. What staqge in the 3D scan-to-3D Print process require the gratest computing power?
  4. Any and all sugestions/opinions welcome.

Thank you for your time

0 Kudos
Grad Student
Message 2 of 9 (882 Views)

Re: PC Hardware To Achieve Decent Performance

More CPU power = faster scanning. Just keep an eye on the USB controller, you should avoid AVMedia USB controllers, it doesn´t work well with our cameras.  I am scanning with HP Elitebook it´s pretty good, I was also trying Z 2 mini workstation and it is excellent.

I am an HP Employee

Original David Team Member
Honor Student
Message 3 of 9 (841 Views)