Post new question
Question
Reply
 
Tutor
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎06-25-2017
Message 1 of 14 (1,035 Views)

ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

Product Name: David 3D
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hi All,

 

Would someone 'in the know' be able to tell me what the hard-coded settings are for the David ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction process in the David 3D software?

Reason I ask is b/c I want to duplicate them in MeshLab to see if I can get similar results.

 

Thanx ... Chris

Reply
0 Kudos
Grad Student
Posts: 196
Member Since: ‎10-31-2016
Message 2 of 14 (994 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

I think that no one will post that in public.

I am an HP Employee

Original David Team Member

**Views expressed are my own**
Tutor
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎06-25-2017
Message 3 of 14 (984 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

Why not?

Grad Student
Posts: 196
Member Since: ‎10-31-2016
Message 4 of 14 (979 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

[ Edited ]

Maybe I am wrong, but it looks like sensitive information to me.  This software is not open source project. I will ask if this info can be published in forum.

I am an HP Employee

Original David Team Member

**Views expressed are my own**
Tutor
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎06-25-2017
Message 5 of 14 (976 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

Please ask.

I'm not asking for secret information.

I'm asking for info that anybody who knows anything about fusing scans would know.

Like I said, I want to see if MeshLab can do as good a job as David by using the same settings, if they can be done in MeshLab.

Grad Student
Posts: 196
Member Since: ‎10-31-2016
Message 6 of 14 (957 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

I got reply from our developers:

 

"Sorry, but we cannot assist you with that. The reconstruction parameters and vertex weightings are depending on the input data."

 

This is not helpful, but at least we tried.

I am an HP Employee

Original David Team Member

**Views expressed are my own**
Tutor
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎06-25-2017
Message 7 of 14 (946 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

Thanx for inquiring from the developer.

I Appreciate it.

 

This is what I get out of it:

It's an algorythym that's specific to David, so I need to use David for the results that David provides.

Is that correct?

 

Since I'm not a David user yet, I have a Question:

Does ShapeFusion have any settings that a/effect the Poisson results?

Or is it just point-and-click and no user control over the mesh processing?

 

Thanx ... Chris

Grad Student
Posts: 196
Member Since: ‎10-31-2016
Message 8 of 14 (938 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

There are no settings in ShapeFusion that could affect that process. Only thing you can choose is resolution.

I am an HP Employee

Original David Team Member

**Views expressed are my own**
Tutor
Posts: 12
Member Since: ‎06-25-2017
Message 9 of 14 (933 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

Thanx!

 

Do you know of (= have you ever used) a software that works better than David for combining and merging scans?

 

Anybody else you know have an answer to the question?

 

I wanna see what others have discovered about good and bad software.

Tutor
Posts: 14
Member Since: ‎10-19-2017
Message 10 of 14 (219 Views)

Re: ShapeFusion Poisson Reconstruction Hard-Coded Settings

I have had good results with command line poissonrecon. At depth 10 or 11. No other parameters
† The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of HP. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation