Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
HP ENVY 13-ba0999nz
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Why...  why would HP be so completely stupid ?

In the 20 years I've worked as a software developer, I have never had a keyboard where I've had to Google to find out how to type a backslash character on my keyboard.

I've never had a keyboard (Swiss-German) which requires THREE keypresses to get a backslash  (Fn + Atr Gr + L).

This is a business laptop, I need to do work on it.

And, after owning it for less than an hour, I know I'll never use it, certainly not for programming (which is my job).

How do I send this ***bleep*** back ?

And why doesn't the HP Store let me leave a review to WARN potential victims, errr, customers, about this dreadful design decision ?

By the way, I was patient, I did watch the "How to get the most out of your keyboard" video which was displayed after Windows 10 had finished setting itself up.  I clicked on the link to get extra help, which took me to this page...

https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c06617170

but it doesn't mention Swiss-German keyboards.    German keyboards are listed here... but they don't seem to have backslash on their L keys.

Why ?!!   Why would HP do this to us ?!!!

3 REPLIES 3
HP Recommended