Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
Elitebook Workstation 8760W
Microsoft Windows 7 (64-bit)

Howdy!

I'm new to the HP universe, having just migrated from Toshiba Land.

I'm in the process of upgrading an i7 8760W and just got a rude shock...  everything I've read says that the machine

will support 32 GB of RAM, and I purchased memory accordingly.

Removing the keyboard as directed I discovered that there are NO sockets for RAM there!

This is an early machine; April 2012. Were there some early i7 machines sold with only the two bottom RAM sockets

in them???

A load of 16 GB of RAM is adequate for my purposes, but this mystery had me somewhat perplexed. Anyone know

the answer?

Thanks

5 REPLIES 5
HP Recommended

Hi:

According to the service manual, the primary memory slots are under the keyboard and the secondary memory slots (if applicable), are in a compartment on the bottom side of the case.

Chapter 4, pp 62-64.

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c02847569

Primary memory module  NOTE: Primary memory is installed under the keyboard.

A computer having a system board with spare part number 652508-001 or 655024-001 has two memory slots (primary memory slots). When adding or replacing memory modules, slot 1 must be populated before slot 2 is populated.