Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
Any failures related to Hotkey UWP service? Click here for tips.
HP Recommended
HP Z820
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

NVMe PCIe SSD boot support in Z820

I've been following the question and response in the forum but could not find where to add a reply, maybe its because I'm a newbie.

Varioius comments about how to get an NVMe M2 to work as a boot drive but mine does'nt seem to work correctly so asking here if the M2 adapter makes a difference?

Z820, twin CPU's, BIOS 3.91

Startech PEX4M2E1 M2 adapter.

Windows 10 64

I've cloned the boot drive, Windows 10 with the drivers (2.2) pre-installed,  onto the 950 Pro  but its not seen in the BIOS once I go for an EFI boot.

Has anyone done this or is it just a full re-install here?

Now the Fall creators update is here, I can go for a full re-install if required its just the faff of installing programs again.

Regards and thanks for any help,

Mike

5 REPLIES 5
HP Recommended
Hi, I have succesfully installed Windows 7 on a Samsung 950 Pro with the help of an adaptet in my HP Z820. Working rock solid and fast since 1 and a 1/2 year.
Check my posts in this forum, I explain how somewhere.

Good luck!

Iedjie
HP Recommended
Thanks for the comments- question is what adapter did you use?
Also what slot did you use, is it on the first cpu or the second?