cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IDME-Heinen
4 2 0 0
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post

Upgrade NVIDIA Quadro K3100M 4G VRAM possible on a Z1 workstation?

HP Recommended
HP Z1 D8K98US#ABA
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

Is it possible to Upgrade an NVIDIA Quadro K3100M from 4G VRAM to 20G on a Z1 workstation? I have 32G RAM but only 4G video card depending on the information from GPU-Z or  Graphics Memory 8,122MB from HP Support Assistant. I am a multi-media producer and I'm about ready to take a sledge hammer to this dinosaur! Can anyone suggest what I can do to speed up video and multi-media developing and rendering?

5 REPLIES 5
DGroves
Level 11
4,688 4,662 440 990
Message 2 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

since you don't specify which software apps, and your hardware config  you are using

it's hard to provide any advice except for generic ones

the best help i can give right now is for you to visit the software app(s) makers websites user forums and post there

spending  money for a  really high end video card may not be the best solution for you you may find that increasing system memory to 128 gig and replacing cpu's with higher frequency or more cores, provides better results 

Was this reply helpful? Yes No
IDME-Heinen
Author
4 2 0 0
Message 3 of 6
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Thank you for the response. The problem is with as small as opening a PDF.  Opening Adobe Premiere Pro and then Audition or Photoshop or Illustrator. Unfortunately, I purchased this from a 2nd hand/refurbishing computer store with a very good salesman and a no refund policy.  The Xeon  E3 hard drive is 4 core 8 thread, but I suspect it is 6-7 years old, and was used as a server ,according to the salesman.