Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
    Information
    Windows update impacting certain printer icons and names. Microsoft is working on a solution.
    Click here to learn more
    Information
    Need Windows 11 help?
    Check documents on compatibility, FAQs, upgrade information and available fixes.
    Windows 11 Support Center.
  • post a message
Guidelines
We have new content about Hotkey issue, Click here to check it out!
HP Recommended
z620

I'm new to a z620 and I was trying to understand the cabling. The only one I'm sure about is #30 going to the DVDR/W.

Where do the Sata3  #31 0 and 1 go? I gathered from top down 3.5  HDD are 0,1,2 but to what cabling?

mb_layout.jpg

WP_20180830_001x.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HP Recommended

Embossed in the silver metal edge of the drive drawers is, vertically oriented, 0,1,2.  I use a fine tip Sharpie marker to fill those in so they are easy to see forever.

Bottom drawer bay is 0 if I recall correctly.  At the rear of each drawer recess are Foxconn "BlindMate" female receptacles so that when you slide the drawer in the male end of the drive meshes with that.  For drive 0, your SATA type III SSD drive, you want the far other plug end of that BlindMate-attached cable plugged into the bottom right SATA type III gray port.  They have labels at that plug end.  The intended plug is at the very bottom right corner of the motherboard.  A second SSD or HDD that ideally is SATA type III goes into the next bay up, bay 1, and the cable plug from that BlindMate receptacle goes into the next to the left gray port adjacent to the bottom right corner plug you already have populated.