Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sideshot
Level 1
15 11 0 0
Message 1 of 19
Flag Post

Solved!

Degrees Minutes Seconds in programming and program entry...

HP Recommended
HP PRIME

I have a couple questions and possibly a suggestion if no solutions (for the hp dev team, if you're reading this);

As a surveyor, I utilize H°M'S" for angular operations and functions. In programs, WHY WHY WHY doesn't Shift+E work to drop in the ° ' " into my angles???? Is there a whay to activate it; can you help me with this? Currently I have to Shift+9 and hammer out the degree minute and second symbol independently; it's cumbersome. 

And, (this is more for the dev team) PLEEEEEEEEEEASE, is there an option, can it be added back in, is there a work around for us to decide whether to run the calc in decimal ddd.mmss (like the old 48gx), or d°m's"? 

One more thing on the DMS/HMS soapbox.... When calculating angles, there isn't a way to round in HMS! If I truncate or round in programs, the HMS angle rounds up erroneously.

Well that's all. Efficiency is the name of our game; production is what we're paid for. And errors is what we're fired for.

p.s. Thanks to those who actually respond with answers, intsead of post links to pages to which I"m supposed to sift for answers. If the answer is someplace else, it's just as easy to copy paset it to your repsonse and explain it. BELIEVE ME, when I go throught the effort of typing out and posting a question, I've already searched high and low for solutions.

0 Kudos
18 REPLIES 18
cyrille
Level 6
Level 6
252 251 42 77
Message 2 of 19
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hello,

I fully agree that it is not very  user firendly.

In our defence, It is concistent with other apps where you select the type of calculations in symb 🙂

Another good source of help in such cases is the on calc help which does specify: "First select your desired calculation from the drop menu, then press num to enter the finance numeric view and solve the chosen equations"...