Avrora
3 1 0 0
Message 1 of 9
Flag Post

HP12C calculator bond price special case

HP Recommended

Hi all!

There's a specific scenario I'm trying to solve for a bond price:

Stellar Corp. recently issued $100 par value deferred coupon bonds, which will make no coupon payments in the next four years. Regular annual coupon payments at a rate of 8% will then be made until the bonds mature at the end of 10 years. If the bonds are currently priced at $87.00, their yield to maturity is closest to:

1. 6.0%.
  2. 8.0%.
  3. 10.1%.

Answer is 6.0%. 

Is there a way for this whole scenario to be calculated with the TVM keys and of the HP12C?

0 Kudos
8 REPLIES 8
David_M
Level 6
140 139 29 60
Message 2 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Classify the following as an "educated guess", because I know that bond calculations can be tricky.  I believe this one has been set up in such a way that some of the trickier parts have been mitigated, but I'm not an expert and you should consider the following more as a possibility than absolute fact.  Hopefully others with more knowledge of the treatment of bonds will speak up and correct this if needed.

Knowing the specific items identified in the problem description, it appears to me that you can translate this problem into a fairly straightforward TVM scenario with known values for n, PV, and FV.

n: 10 (years)

PV: -87 (the purchase price of the bond, negative for outward cash flow)

FV: this is where the fun comes in.  You have to understand the terminology to make any sense of this.  FV will be the redemption value of the bond, which in this case is the par value ($100 principal) + any coupon payments ($8 x 6).  So this makes FV = (100 + 48) = 148.

Try the following:

- Clear FIN registers
- 10 n
- -87 PV
- 148 FV
- i

The computed effective annual rate is 5.4567%, which is closest to 6 in the problem description.

0 Kudos
Jan_D
Level 6
305 297 32 76
Message 3 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended