cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Get help with Large Format Printers, with direct access to all Latex Knowledge Center · Ask anything · Find anything · Share anything at HP LKC
BennettHall
Level 1
8 5 0 1
Message 1 of 6
Flag Post

Z3200ps-44 Fails to print at 96" size - Help!

HP Recommended
Z3200p6 44"
Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks
last updated - 1:10 pst

This is my first attempt to print a 96"+ print on  the Z -  All attempts to have failed.  
Unit prints the first 6" then quits and feeds the blank paper to the size of the paper setting.

Printing directly out of PS5 - mac OSX 10.9.5 - quad core, 64 gigs of RAM

Thus far to resolve this I have done the following
  • Reduced file size to 200 dpi at hte output size
  • converted file from 16 bit to 8 bit RGB
  • cleared queue in hardrive, set to do not save print queue
  • the usual reboots of everything
I am thinking this may be a software issue, perhaps driver or firmware issue, however, I believe I have the latest versions.  

Next steps to test:

>>load cheap paper, set up a 5 point rule line and try to run a 96" print to confirm the printer will do.
Result:  Z accepted a rule line 97 x 36" file, sent to a 97 x 36" paper setting -  printed without problem

>>It was also suggested to reduce the file size to 150dpi:   

>>My HP tech thought there may be a bug with printing to the full 44" paper width and I may have to cheat that back to 43.75" as one idea, to see if the max width is what may be causing this. HE thought there may be a bug and had recalled hearing of other having issues with output like this

>>It was then suggested to try reducing the file size to 150dpi at output size, but I am not sure why the file size would prevent me from printing this, if I already was able to print this from its unflattened 3.2 gig master file.

• USE CASE OVERVIEW
  • Photoshop output to Z3200PS Model 2 set to 97 x 44” fails - printing directly out of Photoshop, set for Printer manages color.