Highlighted
6 5 0 0
Message 1 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

HP Pavillion 24 all in one desktop won't shutdown

hp pavillion 24 all in one desktop
Microsoft Windows 10 (64-bit)

the computer shutsdown to the point where the screen is black but the power never goes off.  the fan is still running and the only way to shut it down for the night is a hard stop by pressing the power button for a few seconds.

i'm a computer tech and finally had about 6 hours to work on this tonight and no luck.  i tried all suggestions in hp forums, i used the hp virtual assisstant.  of course i used google to find others who had the same problem.  it seemed no on had a solution.

i tried unplugging everything, etc, etc.....made all recommended changes on the desktop, rebooted countless times, and nothing worked.  the problem has been going on for about 10 days now but unfortunately my system restore only goes back 3 days.  going through all my apps and services and programs installed i can seem to think of one that would cause this issued all of the sudden.  so i'm looking for help (if there even is a fix for this since i think i've exhausted all options that may be suggested to me but i'm willing to listen).

has anyone known of any recent app updates that may have caused this?  is there any way to roll back HP updates to previous versions.  one thing that seemed to work for several people was installing HP's recommended version of the IMEI driver.  so i went to the hp driver page and put in all my desktop information so that the right set of drivers were recommended but that didn't work either.  i downloaded the IMEI driver for my hp model and when i went to install it, the message was that my PC wasn't supported and the installation had to stop.  that was weird since it's recommended by hp based on my pavillion model and OS - WIN 10 64bit.

any help is appreciated.  thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Level 9
5,904 5,889 204 520
Message 2 of 9
Flag Post
HP Recommended

Hi